Faux-reo Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This was good for what it is but I wouldn't say it's close to the inside of an oreo. It is a very light and flavorful cream cheese frosting. I did add a bit more vanilla to give it a little depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
These were perfect. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I love this filling, but only after I altered it. I do 8 ounces of cream cheese and only 2 cups of confectioners sugar. People absolutely LOVE the filling then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This has become my favorite cookie filling! I love the ratio of cream cheese to butter. You can definitely taste the cream cheese, but it is not too cheesy. If you are really looking for a filling to compare to the filling in an Oreo cookie, use only butter/shortening and no cream cheese. Sometimes I use half almond extract and half vanilla and that is tasty as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
very good! I halved the amount and it was enough to make 24 sandwich cookies, I used the Chewy Brownie Cookie recipe to make whoopie pies. I did have to add another 1/4 cup of icing sugar because I wanted a stiff filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Good stuff! I was a bit leary of this, but it has good flavor, especially when paired with the Faux-reo cookie. The amount is spot on.. I halved the Faux-reo recipe and this one and had just the right amount of filling. Super quick and easy to assemble the cookies if you pipe this in with a regular round tip. Thanks so much! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Exactly what I needed for my oldest boy's birthday cake. I did add a little more vanilla, but that's a personal preferance. My husband said that this was pretty darn close to the real thing. EDITED: I have to agree. This filling is in-sane. NOTES FOR ME: 24 servings would be just right for a filling between two layers of cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
this was just to thick on it's own and I had to add milk to it to thin it out, also really sweet. other than being very sweet it was pretty good and worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
It was very good, I put it in between Chocolate cookies, and added milk to the cream and less sugar! It was amazing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookn'up_a_vegetarian_storm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
DH really enjoyed this mixture on his brownies. I used a whole package of cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AGGIE778

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States