Faux Meat Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Love them. Quick to make, would cut cooking time with smaller balls. I used melon scoop, 3/4 full and got about 3 dozen. Used oregano instead of parsley and left salt out, doubled the Parmesan cheese, and used home made bread crumbs from whole wheat bread. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodsGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
These were soooo good with bbq sauce and flour mixed into the batter!! Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodsGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
L
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
these were really pretty good. next time i might try adding bar-b-que sauce like someone suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
really great, added some minced onion. Yummy! Definitely add them right to sauce so they don't dry out. they absorb the sauce very well. Make this as is and let the mixture sit for 5-10 minutes, then form the meatballs. I make this all the time, the vegetarians in my family looooove it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bunny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
These really are very good. I only made half a batch, because I didn't have many eggs. I wish I'd made more for snacks! These are so very tasty! I read the other reviews about them being dry, so about halfway through the baking time I drizzled them with olive oil. I didn't have "italian" breadcrumbs, so I just used plain and added some herbs (to be honest, I don't really pay attention when I'm sprinkling, I just start with oregano and go until it smells right). The flavor is awesome, but there is a "springiness" to their texture that is a little strange. After mixing everything, it was so liquid-y there was no way that I could have shaped this into balls, so I added another 1/2 cup or so of breadcrumbs. In the future, I will use 2 eggs and a little olive oil for a half batch. I think the oil should help with the moistness issue. I recommend trying these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I just made these, and right now, they're mosit and smell amazing... I'm going to be adding them to spaghetti sauce and having them with supper tonight. I didn't have any parsley, so I added some garlic powder in its place. I also added a little water, to make sure they'd turn out moist. When I spooned them out, I shaped into ball be wetting my hands, and I think that added to them being moist... I cannot wait for supper and for my clients to try them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Lou Who :o)

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
They were okay. They tasted like little loaf's of bread though, cute, but not really meatball-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
this was great for fasting off meat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This was great. I replaced half of the breadcrumbs with oats, added sauteed green peppers and a half package of tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Chicken Meatballs and Spaghetti

What's cooking in Chicago? Kim's healthy chicken meatballs and spaghetti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States