Faux Meat Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
It's okay but very bready. It would be nice if there was some kind of protein in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This is a creative approach to a vegetarian version of meatballs. This can be described as springy type of bread ball. A couple things I did differently though. The amount of parmesan cheese was doubled. A tablespoon of both ketchup and Worcestershire sauce were added to create more moisture. Instead of one clove of garlic, a teaspoon of garlic powder was added so its flavors can be distributed more evenly. Salt was slightly increased and added ½ tsp of oregano to create a bolder flavor. Since these are a bit dry, I would recommend adding a sauce factor. For example, place them on bare pasta noodles and pour the sauce on top. Some even mentioned baking with a sauce. Because of the dry texture, I would make the meatball portions a little bit smaller. This is certainly a very unique vegetarian recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
O goodness ... I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
really great, added some minced onion. Yummy! Definitely add them right to sauce so they don't dry out. they absorb the sauce very well. Make this as is and let the mixture sit for 5-10 minutes, then form the meatballs. I make this all the time, the vegetarians in my family looooove it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bunny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This was great. I replaced half of the breadcrumbs with oats, added sauteed green peppers and a half package of tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
this was great for fasting off meat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
They were okay. They tasted like little loaf's of bread though, cute, but not really meatball-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This is pretty bland, but is okay when you are going to marinate it in something, or put a sauce over the top. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liesparade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Love them. Quick to make, would cut cooking time with smaller balls. I used melon scoop, 3/4 full and got about 3 dozen. Used oregano instead of parsley and left salt out, doubled the Parmesan cheese, and used home made bread crumbs from whole wheat bread. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
These really are very good. I only made half a batch, because I didn't have many eggs. I wish I'd made more for snacks! These are so very tasty! I read the other reviews about them being dry, so about halfway through the baking time I drizzled them with olive oil. I didn't have "italian" breadcrumbs, so I just used plain and added some herbs (to be honest, I don't really pay attention when I'm sprinkling, I just start with oregano and go until it smells right). The flavor is awesome, but there is a "springiness" to their texture that is a little strange. After mixing everything, it was so liquid-y there was no way that I could have shaped this into balls, so I added another 1/2 cup or so of breadcrumbs. In the future, I will use 2 eggs and a little olive oil for a half batch. I think the oil should help with the moistness issue. I recommend trying these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Chicken Meatballs and Spaghetti

What's cooking in Chicago? Kim's healthy chicken meatballs and spaghetti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States