Faux Jerk Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
GREAT flavors. I didn't have a chili pepper, so I used some hot chili powder instead. I used 1 T oil instead of 1/3 cup since I wasn't putting it on the grill, and I'm working off those Christmas pounds. I cubed the chicken and seared it in a nonstick pan with Pam. I served it on top of grilled sweet onions, red and yellow peppers and fresh tomatoes. With some brown rice on the side, it was pretty ANd tasty AND healthy. My husband, who prefers not to experiment, even liked it. I only have one regret: that I didn't take a picture to post because it was so pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
Delicious. But I made a mistake. I shut the lid to my charcoal grill. I didn't grill the chicken, but I smoked it. The smoke overwhelmed all of the other flavors imparted by the marinade. But the instructions were impeccable, and the chicken was moist. For lunch, I reheated it in the microwave in the defrost setting, turning over a few times through. It maintained the moisture and the flavor of the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Simmons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
Had to impress the in laws- some pretty picky eaters- and this recipe did the trick! Very flavorful, not too spicy and a crowd pleaser. Even my kids liked it. Worked well in the oven. 350 degrees for 1 hour. Thanks for a great recipe Beth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
Great recipe! Don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I made this for company and everyone loved it; 2 asked for the recipe. I adjusted the servings for 12 and baked it in the oven for an hour plus as the pieces were rather big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This is great. Used the marinade on chicken thighs, then cooked under the broiler. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReJean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Delicious, especially as a marinade for tofu (I don't eat meat). Why is is "faux" jerk though? Tastes exactly like the ones I had in Jamaica (except maybe missing ginger).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YummySmells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Faux Jerk Chicken Haiku: "Love this marinade! Chicken bathed in it one day. Spicy jerk, yah mon!" This was great chicken; however, "Jay's Jerk Chicken" from AR is far superior in quality, but this recipe made up for that with its ease of preparation. Followed the recipe exactly, subbing jalapenos for the scotch bonnet and going a teensy bit heavier on the allspice. Leaving my chicken tenderloins marinating in it for a little over 24 hrs. resulted in a moist, flavorful hunk o' jerky poultry goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by Lauren
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I love this recipe! It is one of my absolute favorites and I make it whenever I get a chance. Always juicy, tender and delicious. I mix up all the ingredients and let the chicken marinate for about 24 hours. I substitute chili powder for the bonnet chili peppers because I can't get those at any of my local grocery stores; other than that, I make everything as directed. As sides, I serve long grain wild rice and fried plantains (Alton Brown's "Good Eats" recipe). I love love LOVE this meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
A+++++ PHENOMENAL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Chef John's Jerk Chicken Wings

Caramelized chicken wings marinated in spicy Jamaican jerk seasonings.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States