Faux Jerk Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
Delicious. But I made a mistake. I shut the lid to my charcoal grill. I didn't grill the chicken, but I smoked it. The smoke overwhelmed all of the other flavors imparted by the marinade. But the instructions were impeccable, and the chicken was moist. For lunch, I reheated it in the microwave in the defrost setting, turning over a few times through. It maintained the moisture and the flavor of the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Simmons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This chicken is incredible!!! Loved it! It was really, really good! I did not have a chile pepper, so added a little extra red pepper & some chile powder to give it a little kick. Also did not have green onions, so minced up a little bit of a yellow onion. This is my new favorite marinade!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
really good, I didn't have the scotch bonnet peppers so I just added more cayenne which seemed to work. I kept the marinade for dipping, I boiled it very well to be sure it was safe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: White Salmon, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I didn't have scotch bonnet chile peppers on hand (this time), so I look forward to making it again with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This chicken was very moist and easy. It wasn't quite as spicy as I would have liked, but a great, family friendly weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKKH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: White Stone, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
GREAT flavors. I didn't have a chili pepper, so I used some hot chili powder instead. I used 1 T oil instead of 1/3 cup since I wasn't putting it on the grill, and I'm working off those Christmas pounds. I cubed the chicken and seared it in a nonstick pan with Pam. I served it on top of grilled sweet onions, red and yellow peppers and fresh tomatoes. With some brown rice on the side, it was pretty ANd tasty AND healthy. My husband, who prefers not to experiment, even liked it. I only have one regret: that I didn't take a picture to post because it was so pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I made this last night and it surprised me how good it was, and so simple. I didn't have cayanne pepper or chilies so it wasn't spicy at all. But the flavor was still great. Also I added a capful of whisky which gave it a great hint of flavor. I used evaporated cane juice instead of white sugar, which made it less sweet. I wouldn't want it any sweeter than it already was. All in all a pretty great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Great, easy, delicious meal. A "different" chicken dish. the chicken had a little kick to it which we like. I let the chicken get a little chsrred on the grill. It added another dimension. A keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I'm so glad I found this recipe. It was very tasty. I had a rotisserie chicken that I used (tasted great and saved time) and I couldn't find the scotch bonnet pepper so I used a jalapeno instead. It was fabulous. I served it over a hot baked sweet potato and the combination of flavors was incredible! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Very good. I substituted jalepeno peppers because I had them on hand. Still tasted great - I cooked the chicken on skewers with pineapple. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Chef John's Jerk Chicken Wings

Caramelized chicken wings marinated in spicy Jamaican jerk seasonings.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States