Faux Jerk Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This is great. Used the marinade on chicken thighs, then cooked under the broiler. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReJean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
this recipe is delicious it also taste very good served over a baked sweet potatoe mixed with honey, cilantro and a papaya cut into a relish like the way they serve it at claim jumper's i love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bernadette
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This is absolutely awesome! The first time I made it for my daughter's birthday party, we used the oven. It has an intense flavor and there were NO leftovers. My friend made it on the grill. It still had a good flavor but not as intense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
super easy, marinated it for a day and baked at 350 for about 1hr. I used 1 bone-in breast and 4 legs. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lauren
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I love this recipe! It is one of my absolute favorites and I make it whenever I get a chance. Always juicy, tender and delicious. I mix up all the ingredients and let the chicken marinate for about 24 hours. I substitute chili powder for the bonnet chili peppers because I can't get those at any of my local grocery stores; other than that, I make everything as directed. As sides, I serve long grain wild rice and fried plantains (Alton Brown's "Good Eats" recipe). I love love LOVE this meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This was so good! It the cinnamon and spice reminded me of an Afghani recipe that I absolutely love! I made a rice pilaf and they were perfect together! I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mnoriega

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Made this delicious marinade and let stand overnight. The next afternoon we ate the chicken on ciabatta bread as a Jerk Sandwich. I even cooked it indoors on an electric grill due to rain.... Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Wonderful, juicy, delicious, fabulous, sweet/spicy perfection! Now that I'm out of adjectives LOL..... I use jalapenos instead of scotch bonnet/habanero. I dice one, then remove seeds from a 2nd & put it in the marinade whole. Freezes well, I make up a big batch of marinade & divide breasts in Ziploc freezer bags to marinate in the freezer for easy weeknight meals. Just thaw in a sink of cold water when you get home from work (usually thaws in about an hour – just enough time to get the charcoal going & have an adult beverage) Fabulous on pork tenderloin as well…we serve w/saffron rice & black beans. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GourmetNot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
this recipe is great i use a few jalepenos instead a scotch bonnets as we not into really hot. have made on grill during summer and now summer over and cool weather coming will make them on george formen grill works just as well. have used brown sugar and also honey instead a the white sugar too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stamford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This was very good! The only problem or suggesion I had with this one, was not enough sauce. I understand it was just marinated, and I marinated it over night, and opoked it with a fork, but still didn't really taste the marinate through the chicken, when cut. Here's my suggestion, take twio pieces of wax paper, put on bottom and top of raw chicken. Take a hammer or mallet, and hammer on top of waxed paper, between chicken to make skinner, so marinate can go through easier. Then cobtinue with poking your fork with chicken, after taking waxed paper off. Your chicken will be well marinated over night and ready to be fried and guests to eat. Otherwise I'd susgest some kind of sause with it. My brother and gf used hot sause. I prefer enchilda sauce with it. It had a good favor!I used ginger instead of the allspice, (since I had none), pepper for cajun poweder(also had none), and extra chili poweder. It still turned out good, with the few ingredient changes, but next time I think I'd like to try it with the original ingredients.But none the lest, this recipe is a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Chef John's Jerk Chicken Wings

Caramelized chicken wings marinated in spicy Jamaican jerk seasonings.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States