Fattoush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
In the past, my family included salads to our meat dishes because we knew the importance of vegetables, but fattoush is one of few salads we actually crave. In fact, I make a larger batch (separating the pita chips so that they don't become soggy) to use for lunch the next day. Regarding those pita chips, sorry, you can't replace the real thing with the store bought variety. The pita chips make this salad what it is and besides, it only adds about ten minutes - including clean up! - to cook time. Just make sure to carefully watch the frying and only cook until pita bread is LIGHT brown in color. Remove from stove and let them continue to cook in the hot oil for another minute until they are darker. (If not, you quickly run the risk of burning the bread.) I do recommend having all the salad ingredients on hand. In regards to the dressing, if you don't have/don't want to buy onion flakes and celery salt, just add more lemon pepper (although I find the crushed lemon or sumac sold in Middle Eastern shops to be better alternatives) and more white wine vinegar to give it that extra tang. This salad is a great match for beef dishes and we also like it for our Middle Eastern mezze night where we make this salad, hummus and falafel. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Love it! For the dressing I added Sumac (a healthy palm full), 2 cloves of chopped fresh garlic, 1/4 cup more lemon juice, and coarse sea salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
We enjoyed this. The pita 'croutons' were a great idea! I omitted the parsley because I don't like it, and once I started eating, I went back and added more mint. The only thing I will change in the future is to use red onion instead of green - I like to really taste onion in my salad. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I was looking for a simple Mediterranean dressing similar to what I have had at Persian & other restaurants. This is exactly what I was looking for! I made minor tweaks based on my own preferences and added Sumac as one reviewer suggested. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Love, love, love it! I made a few changes though. Bought garlic flavored, baked pita chips (because it's easier), added feta, omitted mint (didn't have any), used red wine vinegar in place of the white wine vinegar (I had red not white), and used pepper and lemon zest in place of the lemon pepper (didn't have lemon pepper). Everyone I've served it to loves it and asks for the recipe. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ida, Michigan, USA
Living In: New Boston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Great salad! Very fresh, crisp and taste bud worthy. Mint, parsley and cilantro added so much zip to this salad - then add the dressing that is packed with flavor. It is a great Mediterranean salad. The dressing alone is worth making this salad. Thanks Dfoods for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
This salad is packed with flavor. I literally wanted to eat it all day. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMANKAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This salad was exceptional! I made last night for a light dinner, and was blown away by the results. My Dad, who is a very picky eater and not very "experimental" when it comes to cuisine, absolutely loved it. The dressing was light, flavorful, and balanced. Surprisingly, the mint did not overpower the salad, and the various flavors blended together in perfect harmony. I added sweet onion because I LOVE onion in salad, and some chick peas for fiber and protein. We also topped our plates with a few sprinkles of feta, and I left out the pitas to make it healthier. WILL be a new staple weekend meal for my family. The preparation is time consuming, but WELL worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Licavoli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Nice. Added more spices though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama of four

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
perfect . I use 3-4 cups of lettuce , 3 tomatoes, 1/4 cup of mint , 2 radishes and 1/4 onion thinly sliced .for the dressing I skipped the onion flakes since I have a real onion , skipped the celery salt , substituted the garlic powder with one clove of garlic (minced )and for the authenticated touche I sprinkle the salad with a middle eastern spice called Sumac (2 tsp of Sumac)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Insalata Caprese

Ripe tomatoes and top-quality mozzarella and olive oil make the difference.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States