Fatoosh Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
I am half-Arab, and I must say that this recipe is as close as it gets to the authentic. I did make a few changes: I first sliced the pita into two faces, cut them into small squares (much nicer for presentation) threw them all in a tupperware container, added about 2 tablespoons olive oil and a good amount of salt, and shook it all up. I then spread the pieces onto a flat cookie pan and baked in the oven for about 10 mins. You can literally eat them as chips when they're done! I always make more as we all like to load them onto our salads! I also run the dressing through a small blender when I'm done, because I prefer it smooth, expecially when I'm using fresh herbs. If you can, let the dressing sit in the fridge for an hour or two, so the flavours can blend well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
This salad was a big hit at a luncheon where I served it. Everyone went back for seconds and also requested the recipe. Very attractive. I ordered sumac powder from Penzeys Spice Company for this. If you like ethnic/Mediterranean food, you'll love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
This is my favorite recipe for fatoosh salad. Sumac has a sort of lemony taste to it -- very zesty. Everyone loves this salad and people always ask for the recipe after tasting it. I usually make it the day before (pita I make just before serving the salad). I also nuke the garlic for 8-10 seconds before adding. Sumac is hard to find, but you can get it online at this great spice site: http://www.kalustyans.com. Thanks Winna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
This recipe is great. It really does taste like it came from a restaurant. If you use the "greek style" pitas, they seem to hold up better and not get mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
My boyfriend(who is from the middle east) said this is the best salad he had ever had in his entire life! The sumac really enhances this salad. I will definately use this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
if u make this a couple hours before a party, make sure to add the pita pieces immediately before serving!! or, i was thinking you could even serve it separately and guests can add pieces as they wish, and they're still cruncy! one thing, what the heck is sumac powder?? couldnt find it anywhere....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2003
This salad is very authentic. The only change I made was omitting the green onions, I used regular white onions instead. The recipe is exactly like the one in my middle eastern cookbook, and all my arab friends loved it! Be sure and put the pita bread in right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
Really, really good. Try to keep find sumac if you can as it definitely adds to the unique taste of this salad. As for the pita chips: what I did was rub the tops of the pitas with olive oil and then sprinkle them with garlic, sea salt, and freshly ground pepper. Toast for 10 minutes or until golden brown. The oil and seasonings make the pitas turn out extra crispy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
This was delicious. Eat it as a salad with the toasted pita pieces or fill an untoasted pita with the salad mixture for a wonderful vegetarian sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
I loved this recipe!!! I like to try different recipes and this was really good. I did cut back on the lemon juice a little and just a little on the sumac powder but it was a wonderful salad! Definitely like it alot!!! One more thing...you can find sumac powder at www.penzeys.com. They have great spices....the only brand I purchase!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States