Fatoosh Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
This salad was a big hit at a luncheon where I served it. Everyone went back for seconds and also requested the recipe. Very attractive. I ordered sumac powder from Penzeys Spice Company for this. If you like ethnic/Mediterranean food, you'll love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2001
This salad is always my favorite at Middle-Eastern restaurants. I have tried hard to recreate its tangy flavor at home, but failed until this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2001
I didn't use the pita bread but it made a wonderful salad that we just can't get enough of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
I'm a big fan of middle eastern food and always look to recreate some of my favorite recipes. This is a great, easy recipe thats light and refreshing. Add pita just before serving or it gets mushy. I highly recommend trying this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
This is my favorite recipe for fatoosh salad. Sumac has a sort of lemony taste to it -- very zesty. Everyone loves this salad and people always ask for the recipe after tasting it. I usually make it the day before (pita I make just before serving the salad). I also nuke the garlic for 8-10 seconds before adding. Sumac is hard to find, but you can get it online at this great spice site: http://www.kalustyans.com. Thanks Winna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2002
Have never had Fatoosh before - loved it! Will be making this lots. Thanks for sharing this recipe Winna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2002
The whole family liked this salad!! We did not use the sumac, and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
This tastes exactly like the way it would taste at a restaurant. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
This recipe is great. It really does taste like it came from a restaurant. If you use the "greek style" pitas, they seem to hold up better and not get mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
This was so delicious! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Salad I

Summer vegetables dressed in a tangy, refreshing vinaigrette.

Insalata Caprese

Ripe tomatoes and top-quality mozzarella and olive oil make the difference.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States