Fatoosh Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Excellent! Wonderful flavor and easy to make. My husband loved it - took the leftovers to work the next day for lunch. I used whole wheat pita, Persian cucumbers, and baby roma tomatoes (halved) and otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
I am half-Arab, and I must say that this recipe is as close as it gets to the authentic. I did make a few changes: I first sliced the pita into two faces, cut them into small squares (much nicer for presentation) threw them all in a tupperware container, added about 2 tablespoons olive oil and a good amount of salt, and shook it all up. I then spread the pieces onto a flat cookie pan and baked in the oven for about 10 mins. You can literally eat them as chips when they're done! I always make more as we all like to load them onto our salads! I also run the dressing through a small blender when I'm done, because I prefer it smooth, expecially when I'm using fresh herbs. If you can, let the dressing sit in the fridge for an hour or two, so the flavours can blend well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
i made this last night and WOW was it good!left out the mint (didnt have any)but made sure to get the sumac. i would agree with the other posters....DEF the most important ing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandylynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Grilled chicken adds great flavor to this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
This salad was like the kind my mom makes back home during Ramadan to help break our fast. The secret ingredient really is the sumac; it adds a tartness to the dressing that you can't get with vinegar and lemon juice alone. My mom also adds a little dried mint to the dressing and it's just fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amman, Amman, Jordan
Living In: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
This is an excellent recipe. I made a few minor changes. For the cucumber, I peeled and gutted it. I used 3 Roma tomatoes. I used fresh Italian flatleaf parsely. I also added in 1/2 of an orange bell pepper chopped. Instead of fresh mint, I used 1 tsp dried mint. I toasted the pita bread in a pan with a little bit of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Oh, YUM! Loved this! Sumac is definitely the key ingredient in this dish. The only "problem" I had (and it wasn't really a problem, because it was still delicious) is that the pita got soggy almost immediately, even though I tossed it in at the last minute. For all I know, though, it's supposed to be soggy--it really didn't detract from the dish. Next time, I'll try topping each serving with the pita instead of tossing it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
PRETTY GOOD, VERY TANGY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
This was very tasty. It was a bit on the soury side but it's a great alternative to regular salad dressing. The flavor is very authentic. For those of you who can't find Sumac,go to a Persian or Middle Eastern market. The Indian markets should carry it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
This is a great recipe. It tastes just as good or better than my favorite salad served at the local restaurant chain serving up middle eastern cuisine. I had never tried sumac before but I now use it in several mediteranian style chicken recipes. It really adds to the flavor. My husband really enjoyed the salad along with baked pita chips and hummus as a meal instead of a regular "meat" dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Salad I

Summer vegetables dressed in a tangy, refreshing vinaigrette.

Insalata Caprese

Ripe tomatoes and top-quality mozzarella and olive oil make the difference.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States