Fatoosh Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
The dressing made the salad, and would make any salad great. I went to three stores yesterday to find the sumac, and not a one had it--so be forewarned! Now I'm tempted to order it online, because I thought for sure the specialty ethnic stores I went to would have it. Anyway, it was great without the sumac but I know it would be better with it. I made the dressing the night before the let the flavors develop. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This recipe is great. I made it once wihtout sumac and mint and once without the mint. Both times it was great. My husband says half the lemon - not sure I agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
This was exactly like the salad I get at my favorite Middle Eastern restaurant! The mint and sumac is absolutely necessary (in my humble opinion). The sumac was easy to find at an International market that I had no idea was near my house (just did a search online) and only $2 for a big bag. The salad is really colorful and will be perfect for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
excellent salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Very good. This salad was on the menu of one of my favorite restaurants so I was interested in trying it. I did not have sumac so omitted that altho I would like to try it. I used the recipe for Pita Chips from this site. One problem: store the pita chips out of sight or they may disappear before you have a chance to serve the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
Being originally from Syria, I thought this tasted just like the fatoosh my grandmother makes!! I don't like sumac, so I added some dried thyme instead. Very authentic recipe. (I've been using the dressing from this recipe on all my other salads because it's just that good)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Wow, was this fantastic! This was hands down one of the best recipes I have ever made off of allrecipes.com! The only thing I changed was that I added thinly sliced red onion for the scallions and added grape tomatoes instead of regular. This tasted just like the Lebanese restaurant I normally get it from. I could never figure out the particular spice, but I now know it's sumac. Thank you so much for such a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Located from Michigan to Texas and this is as close to a Fatoosh salad as you can get. Found sumac at Fiesta Grocery Store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
My husband is Palestinian and he adored this salad. I think I received the most compliments I have ever gotton on my cooking. The sumac really makes the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michellestrahan4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Very fresh and different...maybe a little too different for me. I personally enjoyed the slight sogginess of the pita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lil deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Canyon, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Salad I

Summer vegetables dressed in a tangy, refreshing vinaigrette.

Insalata Caprese

Ripe tomatoes and top-quality mozzarella and olive oil make the difference.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States