Fatoosh Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I liked this salad, and I especially liked the pita croutons. I cut them into pieces, mixed with olive oil, salt, pepper, and garlic powder, and baked for about 20 minutes bc I like them crunchy. I didn't have sumac and so I looked online for a sub. There isn't much agreement, but after a bit of a search I found a few comments that sumac is lemony, so lemon rind is somewhat of a sub and paprika can be used for the color. So, I did a bit of that. It made it quite lemony, so maybe I could tone it down a bit next time. However, I liked it--bf was a bit less enthusiastic. So, next time I'll see if I can find the actual spice and try again, although he said he just didn't like much of "everything". Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Absolutely delicious! I've had this in my recipe book for a long time and finally tried it because I came across sumac powder in a Mediterranean market. You must have the sumac it really changes the taste. I also loved the strong garlic flavor. Yummy! All the book club ladies liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This is as close to the real thing as you can get without going overseas. My husband is Middle Eastern and begs me to make this at least 3 times a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
delicious with such a great, unique, authentic flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
i used chopped romaine lettuce out of the bag, one white/one red onion, and didn't have parsley. i've never been a big fan of sumac, so i cut back on that a bit. i cut up two pitas with a pizza cutter to make squares, drizzled them with olive oil, popped them in the oven for ten minutes, and added them after i had topped my veggies with the dressing to avoid the sogginess. my daughter and i both enjoyed this recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shireen95
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Awesome recipe, just like our favorite Middle Eastern restaurant. Don't change a thing and make sure you use sumac powder, it isn't fatoosh without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Oh yeah! This must be the best Fattoush recipe on allrecipes.com even if they spelled it wrong! Love the dressing. Can mix and match the greens and veggies to your hearts content. I will use this recipe often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
i followed this recipe exactly....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
10 STARS if I could! I love fatoosh and this dressing tastes just like my favorite authentic lebaneese restaraunts. Wouldnt' change a thing - I will make this ALL the time. Can't wait to make it in the summer without lettuce using only fresh tomatoes, cucs, green peppers and onions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZELDA3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelleys Island, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I love this salad! Everything tastes so fresh with the lemon juice and mint. Next time I will fry the pita bread in olive oil. I baked it in the oven until it was crisp. Easier this way, but it soaks up the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Insalata Caprese

Ripe tomatoes and top-quality mozzarella and olive oil make the difference.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States