Fatoosh Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
This was wonderful, and so easy! I served it with "Feta and Sun-Dried Tomato Stuffed Chicken" from this site - nice complement. Note that I used an entire bag of Romaine lettuce, only 1/2 tsp salt (1/2 tsp. was PLENTY!), and would make those same changes again. Don't try making this without the sumac - it won't be the same! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This was a great fresh tasting salad. I found sumac in a middle eastern market and it definitely makes the flavor more authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I'm in heaven! A local restaurant carries a salad like this. I don't get to go very often. Now I can make it at home, and this version is even better. Some reviewers suggested toasting the pita with oil and/or garlic. I don't think that's necessary and chose to follow the recipe as stated. I'm glad I did. The dressing coats the pita and makes them taste incredible. I threw the dressing ingredients whole into my blender and it came out smooth and delicious. Be sure to use fresh everything; from the lemon juice to the herbs. This is key and is what makes this salad so simple, yet remarkable. Don't skip the Sumac. I got mine from Whole Foods. Thanks Winnifred!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I am in total agreement with those reviewers who emphasize that the sumac is most certainly an ingredient that should not be left out. Sumac is not a spice found easily, which is why it has taken me so long to make this middle eastern salad. For anyone living in Toronto, a shop called The Spice Trader & Olive Pit on Queen St W. does carry it. It isn't cheap at the price of $6.25 but it's enough to make at least 3 large, family sized salads. Doing the math and considering the unique result, this is money well spent. I made Pepe's Pitas (AR recipe) rather than buying the store bought pita bread. The freshness of homemade bread plus fresh mint, lemon juice and parsley resulted in an even more appealing dish. This is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Yum! Yum! Yum! The only thing I changed was cutting up the tomatoes smaller and used about 1 1/2 tomatoes all mixed in instead of the large slices. The dressing is the perfect mix and tastes exactly like the fatoosh salad I get from the mediterranean restaurant here in town. I did think the mint was a bit overwhelming but I may have used too much. I'd cut back on that next time. Other than that . . . PERFECT! So good and so good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrazyKrista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gladwin, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This tastes as good as the salads from the Middle Eastern restaurants around here. It's easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
This is delicious and almost exactly like the great fatoosh I get at a local restaurant. I've made this recipe verbatim and it's excellent, but I personally like to add some feta cheese. I omit the pita because I make a big batch and save it, so there's no way to keep it from getting soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Rafael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This is soooo delicious! Made exactly according to the recipe and I wouldn't change a thing. It is definitely worth the trouble to find the powdered sumac. I think that's what makes this so deliciously different. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Can I add stars? AMAZING!!! It's just like the middle eastern place I order out from. I only used 1 tbs of sumac because it is very strong. I can't wait to make more! Thanks so much for the recipe. I had a co-worker pick up the spice at her local arabic grocery store since I can't find it near my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Riverview, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Yum! I love Middle Eastern food, and this is one of my favorite salads. I did not deviate from the recipe at all, which is unusual for me, and this came out fantastic. This is not a recipe for everyone, if you don't like some of the ingredients, omitting them will essentially make it not a Fatoosh salad, thus it won't taste right. Yes, you have to add the Sumac to the dressing, or it will not have the flavor intended. Make sure you seed the tomatoes and the cucumbers or it gets really soggy fast. Sumac is hard to find! It will not be at a regular grocery store, gourmet places often have it. I live in metro Detroit, with an enormous Middle Eastern population, so it was a bit easier for me to find. I served this for a crowd of about 20 and I had several requests for the recipe, so I know it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Insalata Caprese

Ripe tomatoes and top-quality mozzarella and olive oil make the difference.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States