Father-in-Law's Scallops with Sun-Dried Tomatoes and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This was quite delicious and definitely a meal that we'll keep in our dinner rotation. Even my three-year-old son devoured it. As written, the sauce recipe is rather scant on quantity, so when I make it again, I would double the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This is a very good scallop recipe that even the kids loved. Definitely need to double the sauce. I added extra sun-dried tomatoes also. Did not use the olive oil - the bacon grease left from frying bacon was perfect for cooking the scallops. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bullfrog270

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kutie Pie
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
My family loved it. My daughter wanted her scallops on the side but she is eight. My husband and I loved it and he does not really eat tomatoes but he did not waste a drop. Based on another reviews comments I doubled the wine, cream, butter, and garlic to make more sauce and I am glad that I did. I also used Fettuccine noodles but suggest you sick with the smaller pasta because my sauce was thin. I also used think cut smoked bacon. Please thank your father-in-law; this will now be in my family’s recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kutie Pie
Photo by SB
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This was yummy! I used chicken instead of scallops and also added sauted mushrooms. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Fantastic! I added som shitake mushrooms to the sauce and also added a little extra cream and wine to make more sauce. Sooo delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICUP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Lovely. A great way to start me thinking of multiple ways to do similar dishes. Maybe 1/2 shrimps & /2 scallops. Capers instead of sun dried tomatos, a little bit of lemon? The possibilities are endless. As it is, I prepared this as written and it was lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Pretty much stuck to the recipe. Only made 8 scallops with the original amount of sauce (which came out perfectly) to feed 2 of us. Will make it again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
my husband is a scallop fisherman so I am always searching for new ways to cook them...this recipe is a hit with everyone....delicious....definitely a favorite of mine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I gave this four stars so I wouldn't hurt the overall rating because of my changes. However, I would like to leave a review for the pescatarians that may be considering making this dish. I left out the bacon and sprinkled just a little bit of vegetarian bacon bits on the dish at the end. I used diced sundried tomatoes which gave the flavor but hurt the texture a bit. Overall, I would give this 3 stars for a pescatarian meal because it lacked flavor. My boyfriend did enjoy this dish but I doubt I will make it again. If I do, I will have to make some major modifications and will probably not use the bacon bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoveyfox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I made this recipe as written, but it just wasn't good. Quite bland and just blah. The sauce was barely enough for one serving, so I would definitely recommend doubling or tripling the sauce portion of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Smoked Sausage Gnocchi with Sun-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make easy gnocchi with savory smoked sausage.

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States