Fat-Free Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This is one of the blandest soups I have ever made, even for a fat-free one. I ended up adding a lot of salt, chili flakes, and more curry to make it taste good. It was a good used of the excess vegetables I had in the fridge but I don't think I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dar Es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I made this recipe years ago and lost the recipe. I've finally found it again and I'm making it tonight. Such a flavourful and delicious soup. The "fat-free" is just a bonus! Yum yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This made a lot of soup, but unfortunately it tasted very watery to me. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Delicious! I used 8c of water and 4c of fat free low sodium broth. I also added 4 packets of no sodium chicken boullion seasoning. I had leftover broccoli rabe sauteed in garlic so I chopped and threw that in too. Used a 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes and a 15 oz of fire roasted diced. I did use a half of a bag of a shredded cole slaw mix intead of the plain cabbage...this was handy and easier. Chock full of veggies. Flavor ws great...I did simmer for a few hours, soup thickened slightly and had delicious flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I have to say, this soup needs a lot of work. Granted, I was missing a couple of ingredients (potatoes and celery) but there is such a tremendous amount of water called for in comparison to the amount of veggies/spices! I ended up adding white beans to mine, as well as some quinoa which helped thicken it a little and give it a better texture. I also added about 10 bullion cubes (I didn't have powdered chicken bullion). I also added an extra teaspoon of curry powder, skipped the dill as it didn't seem to fit with the other ingredients, and added some cayenne pepper and dried parsley. After making these changes, the soup is really pretty good and I would probably make it again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I just made a stew out of this recipe: added only 2 or 3 cups of water. Didn't have any potaoes so I put 2 medium zucchini instead. Added 3 cloves of garlic, some parsley and cilantro and some organic seasoning instead of chicken bouillon. My husband is following Dr. Ornish fat free diet for heart disease, so this was really great recipe for him, he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yasmine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Made this recipe without the Cauliflower, celery, cabbage and curry, used Rotel instead of canned tomatoes. Had a good flavor added some lean beef to add protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This is a great versatile-friendly vegetable soup. I added an extra tsp of curry, added oregano, and basil. I threw in the entire head of cabbage and cauliflower (I don’t like having parts and pieces in the fridge), added about 4 cups of chicken broth on top of the 14 cups water. I omitted the green pepper and substituted 2 small zucchinis. I also prefer to sprinkle a bit of jack cheese on top of the soup too - it goes great with the vegetables! The flavor gets better the next day and the day after. Thank you for the recipe. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Photo by SweetBasil
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
So good, yet simple. Wanted a veggie packed soup, with no meat and this did the trick. Skipped the cauliflower and used low fat chicken broth, and tomato juice instead of all the water. After simmering for awhile I put about a tsp of Italian seasoning, some Cajun spice, garlic and onion powder. I also thew a can of white beans in at the end for a little substenance and more heartiness. Hubs loved this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
1 pt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States