Fat Free Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
Fabulous! I sauteed the onions and garlic before adding them to the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
These were great and easy to do. I made them to use in bean & cheese burritos, using a combination of black and pinto beans. However, way too much salt. I used dry beans, which have no salt added, so I can't imagine what it would be like with the canned variety. I will definitely use this recipe again, making that adjustment next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
Yum! I love refried beans and am glad I found this recipe - much, much better then any canned refried beans. I carmelized the oinions in a frying pan before adding them to the mixture. This meant they were no longer fat free but they were still low in fat and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
Awesome! The absolute best refried beans I have ever had. I used less water (checked consistancy as I added)a little less Liquid smoke and 3 garlic cloves. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
This is very easy and tastes great. I did use pinto beans this time. That's what my kids are use to. Will try the black beans in the future. I also decreased the amount of liquid smoke used. That will vary with everyone's taste. Would recommend adding a little at a time, and taste as you go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
I made two version of the refried beans: One with black beans, and the other with pinto beans. I enjoyed the pinto beans better,but both were delicious. I added a few extra ingredients: beef bullion cubs, cumin, and I reduced the amount of liquid smoke to 1/4 teaspoon. A special note: USE 1/2 CUP OF WATER. A CUP OF WATER IS TOO TOO MUCH, AND IT MAKES THE BEANS WATERY. This is defintely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
I made these with pinto beans (Joan of Arc, which when I read the label it said fat = 0, so I'll believe that mine were fat free) but only because I didn't think that the kids would eat the black beans (I happen to LOVE black beans). These turned out really good! I cut the salt and the liquid smoke in 1/2. Not one bit left, thanks Lisa, these are the best (to date) that I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
I've always wanted to make my own refried beans and being that I needed them for a recipe and didn't have the canned stuff in the house, this was the perfect opportunity. I too used pinto beans, omitted the salt, added more garlic, two cans of green chiles and only about a quarter tsp. of the smoke and a lot less water. For the reviewer who commented on the fact that this was not totally fat free; beans alone have a very small fat content. Most canned refried beans are made with lard, hence the reason that these would be considered fat free. Good eats Lisa and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
I found that the liquid smoke made this dish taste synthetic. I was able to eat it, but I didn't care for the too present taste of the liquid smoke, which I even added in gradually because of others' reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
Love this recipe...I used pinto beans instead of black beans for this recipe, not a big black bean fan,the results were Great! Been looking for a YUMMY refried bean recipe for a long time now & finally I've found it !!,I will continue to use this recipe for years to come.! Thanks for this great recipe Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States