Fat Free Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
These were pretty good, but very salty! I ended up adding an extra 1/2 cup of water and 1 cup of extra beans. With that addition, these were good. I also cut the pepper down to 1/2 tsp. and I am glad I did, because there was plenty of heat in the finished product. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Tracee Workman
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
These were really good. Best refried beans I have ever tried! Delicious! Also i didn't add that much smoke, just a couple drops were plenty! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracee Workman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Great idea for a recipe, although the mashing takes some muscle. I would recommend adding a few more spices. Cumin, chili powder, and Adobo seasoning did the trick for me, but i didn't put in as much salt. It was GREAT in a bean burrito!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I scaled this recipe down somewhat as I used 1 can of pinto beans (drained and rinsed), 3/8 cup (6 TBS) water, 1 clove of garlic, 8 grinds of pepper, around 1/4 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp liquid smoke, and 1 TBS dried onion. I also added 3 shakes of cumin and two shakes of chili powder. It turned out excellent! My husband enjoyed it, and he's the refried bean-lover in the house. Thanks for sharing, Bromfield!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
It was very easy to make however way to much liquid smoke, salt and pepper!! At least for our taste. My kids normally love refried beans and didn't like these. SORRY :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ardmore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
very easy recipe. Since i'm not a fan of liquid smoke, i omitted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Dork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Very simple to make! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
MISUNDERSTANDING BETWEEN MY EYES AND BRAIN,I USED THE RECIPE FOR BEAN DIP AND IT WAS THE BEST BEAN DIP EVER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I used pinto beans. Drained only one can. Sauteed onions (extra), garlic, a touch of cumin and a chicken bouillon cube together in olive oil until onions and garlic were tender, then added all the beans. Mashed beans while cooking. I did not need to add salt, water or smoke flavoring. By the way, if you're a routine garlic doubler like me, try to resist that impulse for this recipe; it doesn't taste quite right. In fact, I think it tastes better with less than two garlic cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wickes, Arkansas, USA
Living In: South Orange, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I used pinto beans and halved the recipe. Also used cumin, beef bouillon, a bit of canned jalepeno pepper, and 1/2 the liquid smoke, as has been suggested. It turned out great and tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernice Dray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States