Fat Free Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I LOVE this recipe. I've made it several times now to go in burritos and I adore it. Made exactly as instructed, but with a few pulses in the blender at the end. The chunks don't work well for burritos in my opinion, but the flavor is unbeatable! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
These were much more interesting and tasty than the refried beans I get from a can, mix, or even restaurants. Like others, I used pintos (1 can, drained), 1/2 cup of broth in place of water (following the advice of another recipe, used hot broth to make less starchy), only a dash of salt and pepper, and only a few drops liquid smoke. Also some canned chilis. Sauteed the onion and garlic in olive oil (I know, this adds some additional fat), then mashed all the beans in the pot with a potato masher. Could have done with less onion. These would be good in burritos, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I wonder if the recipe is supposed to read 2 cans, not cups. Well, I did one cup pinto; one cup black. Black, rinsed & drained; pinto, mostly drained. I just put them in a blender. Had to add a little water. An electric mixer may be a better choice. Anyway, I sauteed about half cup onions, a clove of garlic, added the somewhat chunky beans, scant 1/2t salt, 1/4t pepper. Heated that then added 1/16t liquid smoke.. They were good, but not amazing. It didn't save that much money from buying them, but I'll know how to do it now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Too salty and too smoky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Nothing extra special, but they were good. I thought there was a little bit too much liquid smoke in it. I think I would half the amount of liquid smoke next time. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Cut the liquid smoke to half a teaspoon or less, and then it's fantastic! Served with Mexican Rice II, some taco meat, tortilla chips, sour cream, and chopped tomatoes. Yummm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise Hill, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Definitely needed beef bouillon, I would substitute the 1/2 cup of water with 1/2 cup of bouillon broth next time I make this. Also added cumin, cayenne, garlic powder, onion powder and a bit of hot sauce. Excellent base recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachas6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santiago De Compostela, Galicia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I didn't have all the ingredients for this so I used ground onion and ground cumin instead of smoke flavoring and diced onion: still turned out great. This is definitely a recipe you can play around with a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
had no liquid smoke. Used 1 tsp cumin and dash of chili powder. 1 tsp salt WAY TOO MUCH. Very tasty though. I wouldn't call this refried beans though....more like pasty black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States