Fast Chicken Soup Base Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Best chicken soup ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This was fantastic! I made it pretty much according to the recipe, although I probably used more carrots and celery. I didn't measure. I didn't used water because i like it strong. I'm using 2 48oz broth boxes. And I forgot to add noodles. It was so good I didn't realize it until I went back for seconds and saw the bag sitting next to the stove. Oh well, next time. It's the first chicken soup recipe I've tried, and this is exactly what I wanted. 2nd time - I added about a tsp of black pepper and about 1/2 tsp white pepper, still no noodles. Next time I think I'll simmer the bones longer and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rowley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I wasn't sure what was meant by the word Base in this recipe. I made it exactly by the recipe and all I added was a cup of pasta stars. It was the best homemade chicken soup I have ever made. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I love this recipe also. Felt a cold/flu coming on yesterday. Had some in the freezer, heated it, sprinkled finely chopped garlic on top. Felt much better! The flavor is amazing w/out garlic on top...this was put on for it's anti-bacterial properties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Made this soup tonight on a chilly fall evening. Followed the recipe exactly and just added egg noodles at the end. Boiling the bones and skin gives it a delicious flavor. This is a new standard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I use this all the time. Only differences, I add mushrooms to the onin, celery, carrot, and include sage, bay leaf, (and at the end, parsley). I also lightly carmelize all of the veggies, starting with the onion. Then, by the time I lightly carmelize the carrots (added last), the other veggies really have carmelized, making a dark, flavorful broth. I buy the frozen Resen noodles to add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
SO delicious and easy!! Being able to use a roast chicken makes it so quick. This is my sons favorite meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shortey0

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Very clever shortcut. I thought it was a little bland though... I added a bag of frozen peas and carrots to it and added some egg noodles. Not bad, just a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
FANTASTIC!!! The store-bought roast chicken really makes great stock. I added to this recipe a Tablespoon of apple cider vinegar when the bones are simmering. You DON'T taste the vinegar in the end and it extracts calcium and other minerals from the bones, making your soup even healthier. After the bones have been strained out I followed the above recipe adding a bay leaf and a little garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KevinBerry7406
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Worked very well as a chicken soup base and using the rotisserie chicken saves a ton of time! I would recommend using only 1 onion though and doubling the carrots. Otherwise, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KevinBerry7406

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States