Fast and Friendly Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I would rate this even lower as a finished recipe, but I'm going to be generous and give it three as a good base. You MUST add some herbs to this for flavor (I used basil and a bit of oregano and some ground black pepper). I also added 3 cloves of minced garlic and half an onion, very finely diced. I upped the parmesan cheese as well. I used my hands to mix it and to form it into balls. I baked them approximately 30 minutes, but did not turn them. It's really not necessary and a waste of time and energy for no gain. With these modifications, the recipe turned out great - 5 stars for sure! I tripled the recipe, used some right away and put the rest into the freezer for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Can't give this more than 3 stars- this is only decent as a BASE. Sorry. It lacks a LOT of FLAVOR!!! But, I am skilled enough in the kitchen to know this needed LOTS of doctoring/ingredients to make them appetizing. To start- only use the ground turkey if you are looking for a very lean meat. For a good, savory & hearty meatball, use ground beef! Even w/ the Italian seasoned breadcrumbs, this still needs MORE spices/flavor. I added in (all to taste) minced garlic, minced onion, a dash of garlic powder, onion powder, cayenne, oregano, parsley, sage, pepper, a pinch of cumin & salt. A dash of Worcestershire & hot sauce gives it a boost. Making mine for spaghetti, I added in a bit of parmesan. Also added some EVOO to avoid them turning out dry. Don't use an ice cream scoop. Get your hands in there to mix & form the balls- they turn out MUCH better. I covered a baking sheet with foil & a coat of cooking spray to prevent them sticking. Cooking time of 20-25 min. is on par, but you don't really need to turn them in the last 5 min. Its a hassle & if they are sticking to the sheet/dish, it makes a mess & rips them apart. Overall- an 'ok' base recipe to ADD YOUR OWN FLAVORING INDREDIENTS. Unless you are looking for a very bland, dry meatball, you'll want to tweak this w/ seasonings to suit your flavor palate. A big plus, once you tweak this to taste, they freeze well for making larger batches to save for later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Awesome recipe, I use it for spaghetti instead of beef meatballs. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Largely disappointed in the original recipe, but possibly due to my selection of ingredients listed. 85% lean turkey, Italian seasoned breadcrumbs (the granular ones from a canister). Also the egg and EVOO. My gut told me they needed more seasoning, and I was right--but I always try to follow a recipe to the letter first time I try it. Consistency of the meatballs was good and they were perfectly crisp on the outside, so I think the turkey, egg, olive oil and bread crumbs all did their basic jobs -but this exact combination of ingredients as I listed will leave you with a VERY bland-tasting result. Will definitely try some of the add-ins mentioned next time, It's a good foundation for a recipe, but I have to think all the raves here involved some additions. Even just salt & pepper could have saved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This recipe turned out absolutely perfect. I used ground turkey meat as recommended and mixed it with my spaghetti recipe that had whole grain noodles! Tasty and healthy! Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Ok, we don't like ground turkey so I used ground beef and I had to make my own Italian seasoned bread crumbs. But these were super easy and super awesome. Definitely will be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denice

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
This is such a flexible recipe. I use gluten free breadcrumbs and add an extra egg to compensate for the structure you lose by removing the wheat. You can double the recipe and par bake half, cool and freeze. They defrost beautifully in a slow cooker your favorite sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
These are amazing. Simple. Easy. Delicious. Didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamagillett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Love this recipe, my three year old really likes them. I added a few additional things, great quick recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cruddock5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Very good. I add 1/8 cup of vey cold water at the end a dolt the meatballs sit a bit before cooking. I also add some Parmesan cheese, garlic, Italian seasoning, salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 703) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Friendly Meatballs

Make these oven-baked meatballs with turkey or ground beef.

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Budget Friendly Chicken Oreganato

See a super-simple way to prepare flavorful lemony chicken thighs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States