Fast and Friendly Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I made these last night and both my wife and I thought they were great. I did not have bread crumbs on hand but did have some stale bread we had baked so I made my own and soaked them in milk. We had been looking for something was was not fired and these fit the ticket! Basic, easy, tasty and easy to change up. I rate these a five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I made this but also added garlic, slat pepper and some seasoning. They turned out delicious! I also did half pan fried and half baked, and they both turned out very good. Will do again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Have made these several times. They are really good. I do use ground turkey and last time I made them, threw in quite a bit of fresh chopped parsley, just 'cause I had it to use up. They were wonderful. I mean, when there were only two meatballs left the next day, there was a discussion around the table about cutting them into halves so everyone could get half of a meatball. That should tell you how tasty they are. One word of caution: don't overcook meatballs. Pull them out of the oven when they are 'just done'. That way, they are nice and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I was all set to make these meatballs, and then realized that I only had plain breadcrumbs. I went ahead and made these, but had to improvise a bit by adding 1/2 tsp of salt, 1/2 tsp of onion powder, 1/2 tsp of garlic powder, and 1/4 tsp pepper. I chose not to use any Italian seasoning because I wanted to keep these pretty plain in hopes that my kids would eat them. Well, my 6 yr old did, but my 4 yr old didn't. My husband and I thought that these turned out well. I like that there was no chopping or mincing to be done. Simple and easy, basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
The meatballs came out great. I added some of the ingredients -SandraM suggested. This is a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Awesome and my concern was the cooking time, but it's just right. We used the meatballs for meatball subs- my 1 and 3 year girls loved it! So did my husband but he's my plAte cleaner he eats anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I would rate this even lower as a finished recipe, but I'm going to be generous and give it three as a good base. You MUST add some herbs to this for flavor (I used basil and a bit of oregano and some ground black pepper). I also added 3 cloves of minced garlic and half an onion, very finely diced. I upped the parmesan cheese as well. I used my hands to mix it and to form it into balls. I baked them approximately 30 minutes, but did not turn them. It's really not necessary and a waste of time and energy for no gain. With these modifications, the recipe turned out great - 5 stars for sure! I tripled the recipe, used some right away and put the rest into the freezer for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Can't give this more than 3 stars- this is only decent as a BASE. Sorry. It lacks a LOT of FLAVOR!!! But, I am skilled enough in the kitchen to know this needed LOTS of doctoring/ingredients to make them appetizing. To start- only use the ground turkey if you are looking for a very lean meat. For a good, savory & hearty meatball, use ground beef! Even w/ the Italian seasoned breadcrumbs, this still needs MORE spices/flavor. I added in (all to taste) minced garlic, minced onion, a dash of garlic powder, onion powder, cayenne, oregano, parsley, sage, pepper, a pinch of cumin & salt. A dash of Worcestershire & hot sauce gives it a boost. Making mine for spaghetti, I added in a bit of parmesan. Also added some EVOO to avoid them turning out dry. Don't use an ice cream scoop. Get your hands in there to mix & form the balls- they turn out MUCH better. I covered a baking sheet with foil & a coat of cooking spray to prevent them sticking. Cooking time of 20-25 min. is on par, but you don't really need to turn them in the last 5 min. Its a hassle & if they are sticking to the sheet/dish, it makes a mess & rips them apart. Overall- an 'ok' base recipe to ADD YOUR OWN FLAVORING INDREDIENTS. Unless you are looking for a very bland, dry meatball, you'll want to tweak this w/ seasonings to suit your flavor palate. A big plus, once you tweak this to taste, they freeze well for making larger batches to save for later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Awesome recipe, I use it for spaghetti instead of beef meatballs. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Largely disappointed in the original recipe, but possibly due to my selection of ingredients listed. 85% lean turkey, Italian seasoned breadcrumbs (the granular ones from a canister). Also the egg and EVOO. My gut told me they needed more seasoning, and I was right--but I always try to follow a recipe to the letter first time I try it. Consistency of the meatballs was good and they were perfectly crisp on the outside, so I think the turkey, egg, olive oil and bread crumbs all did their basic jobs -but this exact combination of ingredients as I listed will leave you with a VERY bland-tasting result. Will definitely try some of the add-ins mentioned next time, It's a good foundation for a recipe, but I have to think all the raves here involved some additions. Even just salt & pepper could have saved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 709) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Friendly Meatballs

Make these oven-baked meatballs with turkey or ground beef.

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Budget Friendly Chicken Oreganato

See a super-simple way to prepare flavorful lemony chicken thighs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States