Fast and Friendly Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I make this or a variation of this often for my boyfriend. I eat completely vegetarian and while he supports me in this, he does like a bit of meat now and then. This recipe is so simple to make and economical, it's my favourite meat item to prepare for him because it makes a ton and we can freeze some to use throughout the next couple weeks. It also lends itself to substitutions, I've used ground beef and pork (the pork was his favourite meatball of all time, according to him) and even some fresh ground chicken breasts which I popped in my food processor for a bit. You can add tons of flavouring mix-ins too, and I often add chopped scallions or red pepper relish, sometimes chili powder or hot sauce, and once I added soy sauce for an asian twist. So even though I never taste these, my better half insists these are great, which takes this to 5 stars. Tons of variety means these can go with everything and I LOVE how inexpensive these are. I've also used everything from panko to homemade breadcrumbs in these and they turn out fine every time. lovelovelove!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I made these tonight and they were good. I'm a fan of meatballs because they are easy and my 4yr old daughter likes them. I chose these because of the basic recipe and good ratings. Like many others, I did add some seasonings because they did sound a little bland as is. I substituted the bread crumbs (I was out) for crushed up garlic and cheese croutons. I added salt, pepper, granulated garlic, onion powder, parsley, a little bit of Trader Joe's Everyday Seasoning, a dash of Worcestershire sauce and a couple squirts of ketchup. I was a little worried they would be too mushy, but it worked out fine. I did not use these in sauce so I wanted to make sure they were flavorful without. They were and my daughter gobbled them up. I'm sure I will refer to this recipe many times, but probably change them up depending on the rest of the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
The prep time was exactly as stated in the recipe. I added an equal amount of mild Italian sausage to the turkey and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I didn't use egg, but added minced garlic, a handful of Parmesan cheese and substituted oatmeal for bread. They hold together beautifully! Then I simmer them in home made sauce to infuse the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Easy used turkey, added shredded carrot and zucchini and a little slice of mozzarella in the center
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I made these last night and both my wife and I thought they were great. I did not have bread crumbs on hand but did have some stale bread we had baked so I made my own and soaked them in milk. We had been looking for something was was not fired and these fit the ticket! Basic, easy, tasty and easy to change up. I rate these a five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I made this but also added garlic, slat pepper and some seasoning. They turned out delicious! I also did half pan fried and half baked, and they both turned out very good. Will do again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Have made these several times. They are really good. I do use ground turkey and last time I made them, threw in quite a bit of fresh chopped parsley, just 'cause I had it to use up. They were wonderful. I mean, when there were only two meatballs left the next day, there was a discussion around the table about cutting them into halves so everyone could get half of a meatball. That should tell you how tasty they are. One word of caution: don't overcook meatballs. Pull them out of the oven when they are 'just done'. That way, they are nice and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I was all set to make these meatballs, and then realized that I only had plain breadcrumbs. I went ahead and made these, but had to improvise a bit by adding 1/2 tsp of salt, 1/2 tsp of onion powder, 1/2 tsp of garlic powder, and 1/4 tsp pepper. I chose not to use any Italian seasoning because I wanted to keep these pretty plain in hopes that my kids would eat them. Well, my 6 yr old did, but my 4 yr old didn't. My husband and I thought that these turned out well. I like that there was no chopping or mincing to be done. Simple and easy, basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
The meatballs came out great. I added some of the ingredients -SandraM suggested. This is a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 684) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Friendly Meatballs

Make these oven-baked meatballs with turkey or ground beef.

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States