Fast and Friendly Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
As written 3 stars but with these changes 5 stars. First, I added dash of onion powder, garlic powder, salt, pepper. Then with olive oil, I pan fried the meatballs on all sides until brown. Then I added the meatballs to my spaghetti sauce and simmered for 15 minutes. This was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
4 stars for simplicity, it would be 5 but they would be bland if prepared as written. I added a lot of italian seasonings and Mrs. Dash...still needed some salt after they were done. Served with jar tomato sauce and a salad-easy fast dinner that pleased the husband and 5-year-old too :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Really good but missing something...not sure what yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Awesome meatballs. I use a lot of garlic, added water and olive oil, and some extra bread crumbs... these always turn out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This is an excellent base for an Italian meatball recipe. Little things I do differently: use ground beef (of course that is a matter of preference); add more dry seasoning, especially salt. I add in sauted onions and garlic with seasoning. (Idea courtesy of Chef Anne Burrell). I use 2 garlic cloves and about half a small onion, but that too is a matter of preference. When they cool I put the mixture through the food processor. (at first it did not want to cut them up, but I added in some water and then it chopped them off. I strained the water off and used just the solids in the meat mixture - much easier than it sounds). I also add in some grated parmesan or other hard dry cheese to the meat mixture. Last, after I am done mixing, I test by making a little meat patty and fry it. (Thanks again to Chef Burrell for that idea too!) If it tastes good, the seasoning is right. If it needs more of anything (usually salt), then I add more and test it again. Then I form all the meatballs and put them in the oven. I LOVE that these meatballs only need baking and you don't have to fry them all and then bake them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This recipe is a great starting point for whatever you want to do! I had some Italian-spiced ground turkey that I used, so I just put some salt and pepper and onion salt in, plus parmesan cheese. It was fantastic! This recipe can easily be adapted for all kinds of meatballs too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
These meatballs lacked flavor for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Easy, quick prep too...used a packet of french onion soup to season the ground beef I used and oatmeal instead of bread crumbs...kid approved (4 & 6 yr olds) = )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by colly1977

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I love these meatballs! All I added was some garlic and basil seasonings. I baked them just like the recipes says and put them in the fridge. When ready to use them, I slow cook them! Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
When I went to take my turkey out of the freezer to thaw to make these, I noticed that it was the super lean kind. Decided to go ahead and try the recipe, and it worked beautifully for me. I followed the instructions exactly, and they came out of the oven slightly brown and crisp. I then simmered these in a pot with a little store bought pasta sauce and served over tri-colored rotini pasta. My husband, who had originally turned his nose up to not having beef meatballs, loved these and took the leftovers as a meatball sandwich today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 678) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Friendly Meatballs

Make these oven-baked meatballs with turkey or ground beef.

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States