Fast and Easy Tofu Lo-Mein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
wow, this was really good! i used chicken flavored ramen, and added splashes of sesame oil and and some red pepper flakes to spice it up a bit. i also froze the tofu, which i always do when i buy tofu, then defrosted it the night before in the fridge, as another reviewer suggested. i think it gives it a "meatier" texture. also, be sure to drain the tofu REALLY well, or it won't brown up quite as nicely. what i do is just squeeze out all the water by hand, after slicing it into strips. just wash your hands, grap a strip, and qive it a quick squeeze over the sink! it makes a world of difference rather than just squashing it between paper towels. will definitely experiment with other ramen flavors, other veggies, and other spices. thanks for the easy and versatile recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNUGLBUGLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This was VERY good for a fast supper. My pantry was bare, I didn't have any frozen stir-fry veggies but I had carrots, celery, mushrooms and onions. It turned out VERY tasty & my whole family of six, plus a baby, polished off an 8 serving meal. I baked my tofu in soy, garlic, ginger and a bit of honey, instead of frying it because I needed to fry up some ground chicken @ the same time (I only had one box of tofu!). I never had tofu taste great! Frying it would have gotten the same results. Satifying and FAST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWifey/Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This was very quick and easy to make, and was delicious too! I did just a couple things differently that I thought I would share. First, don't drain the noodles. I think that would make them too dry. Once the noodles are getting soft and breaking apart, remove them from the heat, give them a stir, and cover. The steam should finish cooking them. The noodles should soak up the little bit of excess water while you finish cooking your tofu and veggies. In addition to the seasoning, I also added a little ground ginger and some basil. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
This came out so yummy! I used packaged fried tofu instead because it has a nicer consistency. I also cooked it in sesame oil with about 2 cloves of chopped garlic. I then added chopped mushrooms, carrots, bok choy and a 1/4 cup of water to steam the bok choy. I used two ramen packages but only one spice packet because of the high sodium factor, but I did add a splash of low-sodium soy sauce. When it was almost finished I threw in some green onions. SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by feminiSh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I used spiced organic tofu with regular spagetti, because I did not have ramen noodles. I had to do couple of adjustment, but it was good and even my 4 year old liked it except of veggies :( Will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
This was great! I had dinner cooked and on the table in 20 minutes. My two youngsters cleared their plates, too. I bought pre-diced firm tofu and added some sesame oil at the end. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lstevenson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
The things I liked most about this recipe was the convenience. I fixed it for my family after a long day at work and it only took 17 minutes. It was very good, and like other reviewers said, it tasted even better the next day. The ingredients was easily substitutable. Instead of tofu, I used 1 pound of shrimp and instead of oriental flavored noodles, I used shrimp flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TGHEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
This is so good. I make it a lot. I sometime use sesame oil in place of the olive oil. Just as good warmed up the next day for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I had some tofu in the fridge and didn't really know what to do with it. I found this recipe and it was an instant hit with my husband and myself. That was over two years ago and I continue to make this recipe. The only thing that I do differently is that I marinate the tofu before I cook it up. I use minced garlic and either teriyaki or soy sauce to give it some added flavor. Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
this was yummy! it comes out a little dry so i keep a little water from the ramen. youve gotta like packaged ramen though, cause its basically that without the water. play around with the vegetables...sometimes i just add some peas and leftover chicken and its great. suuper fast too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Easy Lasagna I

Try this tasty lasagna that's simple to make.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States