Fast and Easy Tofu Lo-Mein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I swear I reviewed this at one point! This is a recipe I've been making for the past 5 years. It's very good- better than you would expect from looking at the very basic ingredients. Ramen isn't something I enjoy very much (overindulged in my younger years!) but I really like this recipe and so does my husband. It's actually one of the first things I cooked for him when we were dating and he was very skeptical of the tofu but it won him over! I like to use 2 T of soy sauce and add 1/2 T sesame oil at the end. I suggest using the Oriental noodles because the spice packet adds a lot of flavor. We like to eat this with edamame :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I really wanted to like this recipe but it really was a waste of tofu. I had my tofu nicely browned and crispy and put in the veggies and seasoning packets and it was quite dry and was hard to mix together, so I tried adding some pasta water and my tofu got soggy :~( then I mixed in the drained sticky noodles and it was even drier. All that aside it's also awfully unhealthy. Too bad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger135

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Not sure if I did something wrong, but my tofu soaked up all the oil and tasted very oily. I did freeze my tofu, thawed and got rid of water. I'll try baking them next time. The noodles, stir-fry and seasoning tasted good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Really good for as fast as it is. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Loved this. 2 tablespoons of olive oil was not enough though. the tofu stuck to the pan almost immediately on medium high. I added another tbsp of olive oil, red pepper flakes, garlic power, and then a little water when I added the frozen veggies. Super easy and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This recipe has it all. Fast, easy, tasty, cheap, versatile. I can make this once a week and not hear gripes, because I just use whatever vegetables I have on hand, whatever meat I have on hand, and whatever noodles I want to switch things up. The recipe as-is is fine. The man of the house doesn't care for tofu (he says it makes his teeth hurt) so I can switch in any other protein. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe! One of those 'why didn't I think of that' moments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
A great weeknight supper! When the noodles were nearly done, I threw a handful of fresh green beans in the pot, boiled for a few more minutes, drained, and added to my tofu. Draining the tofu really well prior to frying is crucial.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
First off lol @ the people saying "This tastes like ramen with vegetables!" that's ... what it is. XD The meal isn't going to magically turn into something else, I mean what? I actually tried this with shrimp flavored ramen, and shrimp instead of tofu. It was a good flavor and very easy and quick to make. I think it is missing something though. I did add a little garlic and hot pepper flakes as well. I will definitely experiment with this again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by raleighguy
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
The main ingredients cost less than $5. I am so full after eating this. Recipe turned out perfect (see my picture). This was the first time I had ever cooked tofu. Instead of using oil, I used 2 tbsp of butter and let it melt. Browned the tofu till it was slightly crips on all fours. I used japanese stir fry mix from the grocers freezer and it already had its own soy sauce in it. Ohhh and while the tofu fried, I had lightly seasoned it. My noodles came out perfect and the liquid consistency couldnt have been better. You gotta cook the noodles longer than 2 minutes or else it will taste dry like cardboard. Again perfect and cheap and excellent for a beginner. Cant wait to try more recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was my first experience with tofu and I was really surprised--I've been missing out! I used fresh broccoli, carrots and mushrooms in place of the stir-fry vegetables. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States