Fast and Easy Spinach with Shallots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
My entire Italian family has prepared spinach this way for generations, so this "recipe" is classic. Shallots or onions are a nice touch, but certainly not necessary, but fresh garlic, on the other hand, is. Also,if you're going to be making a lot of spinach, don't add it to the pan all at once. Add more spinach to the pan as each addition wilts, which will occur rapidly. Substituting butter for the olive oil is not a good idea, as butter has such a low burning temperature. So if you'd like to add butter, do so at the end. This is a simple and delicious way to prepare fresh spinach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Use a combo of butter and olive oil...add some crushed garlic to the shallots and add some fresh mushrooms...When done, sprinkle with grated parmesean cheese...remember, spinach cooks down to pratically nothing so if you want a lot, you definately need to cook a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Good stuff and so simple! I used a bit of red onion since I didn't have shallots. I also mixed in two minced cloves of garlic and some mushrooms as recommended by another reviewer. Cooked in a bit of olive oil and butter, it was delicious. I made it with lemon garlic roasted chicken and the meal rocked. Great way to get in extra veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessajbaca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
Excellent side dish, next time add a few shakes of balsamic vinegar for a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Pecoraro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
This was a delicious side dish. My grocery didn't have any shallots, so I used 1/2 cup of finely diced red onion instead. I was trying to stir too many pots while my onion was cooking and it got a little bit carmelized. That was okay though, the flavor was very, very good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Great for a quick and easy side. I used frozen chopped spinach that I had thawed which worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
Quick, easy, delicious. I used oil and butter. Butter has such a delicious flavor with veggies! It's hard to go wrong with this one. Next time I might try pearl onions with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
It really is fast and easy - and delicious too! A suirt of lemon at the table makes a big difference for me. Since nobody else in my house likes cooked spinach, I had to eat it all myself - lucky me. Next time, I will try adding some garlic with the shallot, but I really don't think butter would add to this dish. I think it would take away from the fresh clean taste of the spinach. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Loved it! used scallions instead of shallots and it gave it a real pop. Made me wish I had made more; I definitely suggest this side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Very good, we added some crisp bacon diced up. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremen, Bremen, Germany
Living In: Lanham, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States