Fast and Easy Spinach with Shallots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
It was so easy and good! My husband really liked it. I added garlic and mushrooms, just what another reviewer said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
My entire Italian family has prepared spinach this way for generations, so this "recipe" is classic. Shallots or onions are a nice touch, but certainly not necessary, but fresh garlic, on the other hand, is. Also,if you're going to be making a lot of spinach, don't add it to the pan all at once. Add more spinach to the pan as each addition wilts, which will occur rapidly. Substituting butter for the olive oil is not a good idea, as butter has such a low burning temperature. So if you'd like to add butter, do so at the end. This is a simple and delicious way to prepare fresh spinach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I'm really digging this recipe! I was burned out on different ways to make fresh spinach and decided to give this a go. I am SO glad I did! This is my new favorite way to prepare spinach. I go heavy on garlic and shallots and use quite a few splashes of balsamic vinegar. I use WAY more spinach than the recipe calls for and believe it or not, even my kids love this method of preparing spinach. Great recipe! My new fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedVinoGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I served this dish to guests along with Lamb Chops and mashed potatoes and got rave reviews. I took the reviewer Honey's advice and added butter, and mushrooms to the spinach and sprinkled with parmesan cheese and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This was simple, speedy and yummy. A good way to jazz up spinach I added a sprinkle of garlic powder to the shallots. Will make again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
This was excellent. I did use 1 tbs. butter and 1 tbs. olive oil and some crushed garlic as another user suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Yum! Quick, easy, and delicious. What more could you ask for???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Best cooked spinach I've ever eaten. Took lots of your readers advise: added a little butter, didn't have shallots, so used green onions, added a little minced garlic, and when I put it on the plates, added a splash of Balsamic vinegar. This goes in my file to use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This was great. I added sliced mushrooms with the shallots. Husband and I finished it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This was a nice and quick way to cook spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States