Fasoliyyeh Bi Z-Zayt (Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I don't know that my guests go as crazy for these as I do, but I love them! I find the ice crystals create too much water in the pot and I end up straining the beans during the cooking process in order to get them to darken and not just get mushy. I also sprinkle on toasted sesame seeds before serving - great additional nutrition and a perfect flavor compliment. These stay perfectly well in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Amazing. Used french cut green beans, 3 T olive oil and 2 cloves garlic plus cilantro. Cooked until garlic was sweet (for the little girls). So, so good, husband said, "this is tasty!" There were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
These were a good change from plain ole veggies. I had to substitute garlic powder because I did not have fresh. The other thing that may have affected flavor was that after they were done, I let them rest covered while I got a few more things ready for dinner. This way, they were served more warm than hot, and the cilantro had more time to wilt. I have been told that some people have taste buds that make cilantro taste awful to them. Thankfully, that's not us, but just something to think about if you don't like cilantro dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Fasoliyyeh Bi Z-Zayt Haiku: "I can't pronounce that! Hahaha but this was GREAT. I'll make again, yep!" So along w/ several other reviewers, I can enthusiastically say that I don't think I'll prepare green beans any other way again. These were THAT good. What made something so simple, so ... magical? I don't know, but we loved them, and ate them alongside rice and AR's Schwarma for a most marvelous meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
My husband is Syrian also, and I have made this hundreds of times, both with fresh and frozen beans. I do it a little differently, though. (I don't like to cook with olive oil but use it at room temp only.) I sauté several cloves of garlic that I COARSELY chop or slice in a small amount of vegetable oil (like canola or coconut) then add the green beans, and about 1/3 - 1/2 cup of water, salt to taste and cover, cooking over medium until they're tender but not mushy. Then uncover for the last few minutes, (most or all the water should be evaporated), and serve with a generous drizzle of olive oil. By gently sautéing the garlic first, it intensifies the flavor and takes away the bite of raw garlic. Plus the flavor of olive oil on warm beans also makes the flavor of the oil shine through. We typically serve these slightly warm or room temp, but not typically hot. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by LJ Sosa
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This is a delicious and easy dish to make. I added two tablespoons of lemon juice to the olive oil just because I like the taste of lemon with green beans. I cooked mine until the beans were slightly crunchy. Once it was complete, I found it a little bland so I added a few dashes of Badia garlic and parsley. I will make this again but next time I'll add an extra clove of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJ Sosa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
The family wolfed down green beans and wanted more. I of course doubled the garlic and used the chopped leafy part of an entire bunch of cilantro. It is amazing how simple to make with so few ingredients this is. This will be a regular thing for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew Oliver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
GREAT FLAVOR AND HEALTHY. JUST WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR. EASY TO MAKE. MAKES FOR A NICE SUBTLE SIDE AS WELL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I take this to parties and pot lucks all the time and EVERYONE loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELEAH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
fantastic! I finished mine with a squeeze of fresh lemon. Brings the cilantro out! I want this every day! :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States