Fasoliyyeh Bi Z-Zayt (Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LJ Sosa
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This is a delicious and easy dish to make. I added two tablespoons of lemon juice to the olive oil just because I like the taste of lemon with green beans. I cooked mine until the beans were slightly crunchy. Once it was complete, I found it a little bland so I added a few dashes of Badia garlic and parsley. I will make this again but next time I'll add an extra clove of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJ Sosa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
The family wolfed down green beans and wanted more. I of course doubled the garlic and used the chopped leafy part of an entire bunch of cilantro. It is amazing how simple to make with so few ingredients this is. This will be a regular thing for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
GREAT FLAVOR AND HEALTHY. JUST WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR. EASY TO MAKE. MAKES FOR A NICE SUBTLE SIDE AS WELL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I take this to parties and pot lucks all the time and EVERYONE loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELEAH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
fantastic! I finished mine with a squeeze of fresh lemon. Brings the cilantro out! I want this every day! :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This is a great recipe. I used Trader Joe's garlic olive oil. I think it would be fine using a little less than the 1/4 cup called for. The more done (browner) the beans get, the better they are. Great cold the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
WOW! I've made these twice in the last week and eaten the enitre pound in one sitting! I love green beans, but this is by far my favorite recipe. Thanks Tasneem!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
These were good and I admit I cheated by using canned green beans. I would try them again with the frozen. I added the ingredients to taste, the amount I had, and to lower the calories a bit. I did 2 Tblsp of extra virgin olive oil, 2 cans of drained green beans, 1 minced clove of garlic, and about 1 Tblsp of fresh cilantro torn. I sauteed the beans until hot, removed from the burner, and then added the last 2 ingredients and let sit until the cilantro wilted. I would not have thought to put those 2 flavors in green beans. These are very garlicy, so just beware. The olive oil liquid would be good for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
We loved this. Wish I had had fresh cilantro, but even the dried made this dish so tasty. This is a very good way to make frozen green beans taste less watery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Ok, I admit I had to change this. I love green beans but hate cilantro. But I thought the recipe sounded great for the beans and gave it a shot adding parsley and just a bit of basil. It was really good. I added the garlic a little earlier because I wanted it to cook a bit longer, and I think onions would be really nice in here, too. It's a keeper. I can't wait to try with my fresh green beans and herbs next summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States