Fasoliyyeh Bi Z-Zayt (Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by sixkyej
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This is a nice way to prepare green beans. Next time I will increase the amount of cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixkyej

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This is our favorite green bean recipe. So simple and delicious. I prefer the green beans a little crunchy, so I usually don't cook them very long, but the flavor is still outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
very yummy, my veggie-phobic husband ate them and declared them "very good"! I used a little less than a 1/4 cup of oil and used fresh green beans, since I'm not a big fan of frozen veggies. We ate them "warm", as many people suggested that they were better after sitting for a bit. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tania

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Scotts Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This has quickly become my favorite green vegetable dish. It's so delicious and so easy. When I take dinner to a friend this is almost always a dish that I make. I wish I could provide you with some amazing tips, but I make it just as is and it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERIN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marie
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
The flavors are delicious together. I used frozen green beans even though I usually try to avoid frozen vegetables, not enough flavor. Next time I'll try it with fresh as I didn't enjoy the texture of the once frozen beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goffstown, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
These are delicious. I was able to make these ahead and heat them up for a dinner party. It's been several months since I've made these and now I'm craving it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I suppose it was the interesting method that intrigued me. I'm not a green bean lover and have never prepared them from frozen but some family members are, so I thought I would give it a go. Few ingredients are required and really clear instructions are given in this recipe. The slight browning of the beans gives this dish the most interesting flavour and texture. If you are in the mood for something "outside the box" this will dazzle your taste buds. UPDATE - I have found the French cut style of frozen beans are the best to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
LUV IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I love this dish! I grew up eating this and a similar dish that also has tomatoes. I highly recommend this recipe. It is so good, it is hard to believe it is a veggie. Great with Kefta (or kufta; there is a good recipe on this site) and rice-a-roni! Maybe add some sliced tomatoes on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKELHOSS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
fantastic, use a little less oil next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States