Fasoliyyeh Bi Z-Zayt (Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
Delicious and very easy to prepare. Served them at Christmas dinner and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Greenwood Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
These were the most delicious green beans I've ever had! Took them to our family Thanksgiving potluck in which I was in charge of vegetable side dishes. Made these, and others from Allrecipes: the feta-bacon green beans (not so good) and the roasted brussel sprouts (awesome) The only change I made was to use fresh green beans, about 1 lb, which I partially cooked in the microwave for about 5 mins first w/a bit of water, then I drained and proceeded w/the recipe, just sort of stir frying them w/the oil, garlic and adding the cilantro at the end, after the beans had gotten nice and dark. Not a pretty recipe, but so delicious. Never would have thought of cilantro and green beans together, but was absolutely delicious --I couldn't get enough of them, and they were excellent reheated the next day in the microwave! Will DEFINITELY add these to my veg. side dish favorites. Such simple ingredients and preparation, but a wonderfully complex flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orofino, Idaho, USA
Living In: North Berwick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Will make again!! i only used half of the amount of olive oil and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PACEGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
I really like this recipe. I will make this one again. The flavor is nice. The amount of olive oil is a bit too much so I didn't put as much in. Taste delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This has been the only way I have been able to get my husband to eat fresh green beans. He usually will only eat canned. (He's wierd!)This has become a favorite in our house and appears regularly on the dinner table. Thank you for this wonderful way to dress up this wonderful bean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Amazing! These are a keeper. The cooking method creates a richness that is very similar to caramelizing onions. The deep flavor is a great compliment to the freshness of the cilantro. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I love this simple way of cooking frozen green beans, especially how they turn a little brown at the end. The flavor and texture are just about perfect. I always make them this way now. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
Delicious, my mom loves these; And thay're so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
A great way to prepare this veggie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
This met both of my criteria for a 5 star recipe...simple and delicious! My husband is Lebanese and we make something similar with fresh green beans but there are onions and tomato paste in it too. I think that I could add those to this recipe if I wanted and it would be just as delicious! This is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States