Fasolatha Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
Followed the recipe exactly, and it came out perfectly. The first night I had it as a soup, which was good, but the second night I let it thicken on the stove a bit more and served it over rice, which was truly great. It makes a delicious, hearty comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
I love this stuff! All my favourite veggies, olive and spices. WOW! If it was a person I could marry this! :P The parents loved it, and I saved about half an hour using canned beans. I didn't have fresh parsley, though, so I used dried. Everyone: make this soup! it's a vegetarian/vegan's dream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
I loved this recipe! It is great with french bread. I was a little concerned about all the oil but it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRPINT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Like another member, I was kind of freaked out on the amount of oil. I reduced it to 1/3 cup and it was still wonderful. It's nice to have this in my cookbook for when my vegetarian friends come to eat. I used the Progresso white kidney beans-yum! Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
Delicious. My daughter said this was the best soup I've made. I did have an issue with the amount of oil but went with it anyway and I will use the same amount when I make it again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
This was a great recipe! I often mess up recipes and this was foolproof. Not to mention it is cheap - carrots, celery, beans and spices I already have on hand? Count me in to eat this many more times. For the one reviewer who had to add bouillon cubes - I think if you didn't have good quality extra-virgin olive oil, this wouldn't taste as nourishing. But it is a nice, filling vegetable soup, and cooks faster than you would think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
A great recipe - I made this for my daughter who tends to prefer all white carbs. I increased the tomato paste and omitted the diced tomatoes only to appeal to my children's palate. I also increased the amount of herbs by about double. Everyone loved the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beatrix

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I have loved this soup for years, although I have made my own modifications (I switched to red kidney beans and blend 3/4 of them and I use more carrots and celery), but it is delicious (and a vegan's best friend).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Myrrhmaid
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
We used two 14.5 ounce cans of great northern beans, rinsed well. We added the beans after the other ingredients had a chance to simmer. People are right about the olive oil; it may sound like a lot but use the full amount. This soup was easy to make, and looked and smelled great while it cooked - we couldn't wait to eat it! It was delicious, and was a hit at the family post-holiday potluck. Everyone wanted to try the "vegetarian soup", and there were no leftovers to bring home. We'll be making another batch within the week so that we can have more for ourselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Myrrhmaid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This was unexpectedly great! It has depth of flavour and the vegetables come out PERFECT while the beans maintain their integrity. I ate this SEVERAL times during the week and not ONCE was I tempted to throw it out because I was sick of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustDMarine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States