Fasolatha Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
I thought this was delicious: to make it really fast, I used canned kidney beans and I thought it was just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Myrrhmaid
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
We used two 14.5 ounce cans of great northern beans, rinsed well. We added the beans after the other ingredients had a chance to simmer. People are right about the olive oil; it may sound like a lot but use the full amount. This soup was easy to make, and looked and smelled great while it cooked - we couldn't wait to eat it! It was delicious, and was a hit at the family post-holiday potluck. Everyone wanted to try the "vegetarian soup", and there were no leftovers to bring home. We'll be making another batch within the week so that we can have more for ourselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Myrrhmaid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I took the other reviewers' advice and added more spices. I was out of thyme so I sub-ed sage and ground cloves, tossed in a little chopped garlic, and an extra tablespoon of tomato paste. Everybody raved. Even my toddler loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
I love this stuff! All my favourite veggies, olive and spices. WOW! If it was a person I could marry this! :P The parents loved it, and I saved about half an hour using canned beans. I didn't have fresh parsley, though, so I used dried. Everyone: make this soup! it's a vegetarian/vegan's dream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Delicious the first time around...even better after sitting over night. I used canned white kidney beans. Didn't have fresh parsley so I used dried. Other than those two changes, I made it according to the recipe. Served it over rice. I will definitely make it again...the same way I did this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
Followed the recipe exactly, and it came out perfectly. The first night I had it as a soup, which was good, but the second night I let it thicken on the stove a bit more and served it over rice, which was truly great. It makes a delicious, hearty comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This is a very good soup. I made some changes based on other reviews. I started with 3 c. of water and one bouillon cube. Then I added the onion, carrots, celery, diced tomatoes, 2 Tbs. of tomato paste, oregano, thyme, parsley and olive oil. I omitted the salt because of the bouillon. Once all the vegetables were soft, I added one can of drained and rinsed cannelloni beans (white kidney beans) and 1/2 cup of alphabet pasta. The result was a very hearty soup. I was full after just one bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This soup is very yummy. I soaked up a pot of pinto beans and didnt know what to do with them so I looked up a bean soup and came across this. I added more spices, and tomatoes (due to being more beans than 1 cup) I also added shell pasta 8 mins left of the timer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Lynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
pretty good! i doubled the spices, like everyone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brooklynsurecooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topsfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This was unexpectedly great! It has depth of flavour and the vegetables come out PERFECT while the beans maintain their integrity. I ate this SEVERAL times during the week and not ONCE was I tempted to throw it out because I was sick of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustDMarine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States