Fasolatha Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This soup is very yummy. I soaked up a pot of pinto beans and didnt know what to do with them so I looked up a bean soup and came across this. I added more spices, and tomatoes (due to being more beans than 1 cup) I also added shell pasta 8 mins left of the timer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Lynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Overall, I liked this very much. I would probably use less olive oil next time though. I'm sure it's blasphemy to say that given the taste it adds, but there was a greasy film in the bottom of the bowl due to the plentiful oil. But the bowls were emptied, so I know it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARANICOLE154

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA
Living In: North Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I wish I could give this 4.5/5 stars! Its filling and warms you up on a cold day. I did have to increase the spices to suit my tastes but thats just a personal preference. Thanks for a great vegetarian soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
pretty good! i doubled the spices, like everyone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brooklynsurecooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topsfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I have made this twice now. It is now in my top 3 soups to make (and soups are my favorite thing to make). You definitely want to use quality olive oil...it really makes the dish. This is a comfort food, and I can't wait to make it many more times, especially this winter. I give it 5 stars because it really doesn't need any altering from the original recipe and it is VERY delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This was unexpectedly great! It has depth of flavour and the vegetables come out PERFECT while the beans maintain their integrity. I ate this SEVERAL times during the week and not ONCE was I tempted to throw it out because I was sick of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustDMarine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I took the other reviewers' advice and added more spices. I was out of thyme so I sub-ed sage and ground cloves, tossed in a little chopped garlic, and an extra tablespoon of tomato paste. Everybody raved. Even my toddler loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This didn't come out as flavorful as I was hoping. I ended up adding more tomato paste cause it was too watery. I also added cayenne to give it some flavor. I didn't like the smell either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hull, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Myrrhmaid
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
We used two 14.5 ounce cans of great northern beans, rinsed well. We added the beans after the other ingredients had a chance to simmer. People are right about the olive oil; it may sound like a lot but use the full amount. This soup was easy to make, and looked and smelled great while it cooked - we couldn't wait to eat it! It was delicious, and was a hit at the family post-holiday potluck. Everyone wanted to try the "vegetarian soup", and there were no leftovers to bring home. We'll be making another batch within the week so that we can have more for ourselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Myrrhmaid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Overall good and easy to make, a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States