Farro Salad with Asparagus and Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I used jasmine rice in place of farro. It needed a tsp or so of olive oil to keep the rice from sticking together, but it had a great look and flavor. The next time I threw in a few black beans for more protein, and that worked, as well. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
This was wonderful. I wish I could underline and bold that word. I made this for a family picnic. Yes, I did modify but it doesn't substantially alter the recipe. I only had Quinoa on hand so that replaced Farro. Truthfully, I'm betting cooked wheat berries would work too. The other modification was the walnuts. I replaced them with toasted sliced almonds due to a family food allergy. Also, I used a Red Apple Balsamic. I'm sure any type of good quality balsamic would be great. I forgot to take a picture but I will next time I make it. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I am going to give this five stars although I have not tried it yet, it sounds very appealing! Farro is a wonderful grain and I hope those of you who have not tried it will do so! It can be found in a health food store, and if not found, I am sure it can be ordered for you. However, since I did that, I have found that it can be purchased from Amazon in a 3# bag for a more reasonable price per pound. http://www.amazon.com/Roland-Farro-3-lbs-Bag/dp/B0028VZEJQ/ref=sr_1_1?s=grocery&ie=UTF8&qid=1292004253&sr=1-1 However, I went to their website just now and found they are out of it at this time, but you can sign up to be notified when it does come in. I am sorry for the buildup and the let down!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Great! I served this at my card club last week and it was the hit of the night! I made it with barley instead of farro and added tangerine sections for color. Everyone wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This salad is fantastic. I did not have time to do the 12 hour soak. I soaked the farro for 2 hours, the recipe turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
very lovely and clean flavors, great for summer. I used manchego in place of parmesean and a garlic herb balsamic vinaigrette
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This was truly inspired! Didn't have farro, but did have kamut (go figure!), which is a good substitute. Beautiful mix of tastes and textures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by saraseth
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Loved it! I wasn't sure about the cranberries, but love the little sweetness it adds. I also didn't have time to soak for 12 hours, but it didn't seem to affect the delicousness! I skipped the parm cheese, and instead sprinkled a little goat cheese on...so so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
this dish was absolutely senational, I had a vegetarian friend over for lunch and had no idea what to make her, and this was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Shaved Asparagus Salad

Fried pastrami strips and a simple mustard dressing are perfect with asparagus.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States