Farro Salad with Asparagus and Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I used jasmine rice in place of farro. It needed a tsp or so of olive oil to keep the rice from sticking together, but it had a great look and flavor. The next time I threw in a few black beans for more protein, and that worked, as well. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
This was wonderful. I wish I could underline and bold that word. I made this for a family picnic. Yes, I did modify but it doesn't substantially alter the recipe. I only had Quinoa on hand so that replaced Farro. Truthfully, I'm betting cooked wheat berries would work too. The other modification was the walnuts. I replaced them with toasted sliced almonds due to a family food allergy. Also, I used a Red Apple Balsamic. I'm sure any type of good quality balsamic would be great. I forgot to take a picture but I will next time I make it. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I am going to give this five stars although I have not tried it yet, it sounds very appealing! Farro is a wonderful grain and I hope those of you who have not tried it will do so! It can be found in a health food store, and if not found, I am sure it can be ordered for you. However, since I did that, I have found that it can be purchased from Amazon in a 3# bag for a more reasonable price per pound. http://www.amazon.com/Roland-Farro-3-lbs-Bag/dp/B0028VZEJQ/ref=sr_1_1?s=grocery&ie=UTF8&qid=1292004253&sr=1-1 However, I went to their website just now and found they are out of it at this time, but you can sign up to be notified when it does come in. I am sorry for the buildup and the let down!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Great! I served this at my card club last week and it was the hit of the night! I made it with barley instead of farro and added tangerine sections for color. Everyone wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This salad is fantastic. I did not have time to do the 12 hour soak. I soaked the farro for 2 hours, the recipe turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
very lovely and clean flavors, great for summer. I used manchego in place of parmesean and a garlic herb balsamic vinaigrette
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This was truly inspired! Didn't have farro, but did have kamut (go figure!), which is a good substitute. Beautiful mix of tastes and textures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by saraseth
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Loved it! I wasn't sure about the cranberries, but love the little sweetness it adds. I also didn't have time to soak for 12 hours, but it didn't seem to affect the delicousness! I skipped the parm cheese, and instead sprinkled a little goat cheese on...so so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
this dish was absolutely senational, I had a vegetarian friend over for lunch and had no idea what to make her, and this was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Shaved Asparagus Salad

Fried pastrami strips and a simple mustard dressing are perfect with asparagus.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States