Farmer's Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I fixed two of these for Thanksgiving breakfast: one as written and another with mushrooms and sausage. I loved how I could prepare these night before and pop them in the oven while I set the table and prepared the juices. Everyone loved them. They work great for feeding a crowd without slaving away at the last minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
This was a big hit at a Board Meeting I attended (for Brunch). And my husband keeps asking me to make it again. Definitely a meat-lovers egg dish (aka: the perfect high cholesterol fare for a man! ha). The only thing is that the cooking time is incorrect. If you soak it overnight (as the recipe says) you'll need to add at least another 45 minutes cooking time to it. Mine wasn't finished for over an hour and a half and I even upped the cooking time the last 45 minutes to 350 degrees. So, just make sure you give yourself an extra hour cooking time (even if you might not need all that time) when planning to cook this dish. I've been told that stratas soaked overnight need to cook longer than ones that haven't been soaking as long. And yes, my oven was preheated and yes I even pulled the dish out ahead of time to warm up to room temperature (I gave it an extra half hour of warming up on its own and I still had to cook it an extra 45 minutes). But I will make this again for sure! Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citron

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This was a wonderful tasting dish. I will be making this again. In fact I am making it for our Christmas breakfast. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Made this for Christmas breakfast and it was a HUGE hit! I loved the fact that I could prepare it the night before and pop it in the oven. It gave me more family time on Christmas morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Really great recipe! I used sausage instead of bacon/ham. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I made it for christmas morning. Made it the night before so all I had to do was pop it in the oven while we opened our gifts. The only thing I did different was grounded up some sausage to add with the ham and bacon. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Excellent....what a better way to wake up on New Years's Day but to a hot breakfast casserole! Made the day before as suggested...but made a few changes. I used 3 small boxes of brown and serve sausages which I cooked, reduced the eggs to 6, used 1 1/2 c. 1% milk and 1 1/2 c. fat free half and half, and used half a bag of frozen shredded hash browns. Loved this casserole. Everyone went back for seconds. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
This worked as well as I hoped. I added a bunch of asparague and a chopped red bell pepper. Instead of bread and potatoes, I used a bag of hash browns. Next time, I'll add tarragon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I made this for Christmas brunch. I substituted sausage for ham and made it with Turkey bacon. Everyone loved it and thought it was a perfect celebration breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
I made this for dinner last night. I made it w/ ham and used frozen hash browns which I cooked first with some onion. This casserole cooked up quickly and was delicious. The whole family loved it. Can't wait to make it w/ sausage and bacon next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States