Farmer's Ranch Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I thought this was delicious! My whole family loved them too! The only thing I would do different is to add salt and pepper on the potatoes before adding the ranch mixture.I'll definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
Made this for the first time today... and can only say PHENOMINAL....I did make some minor modifications to this though, mainly for personal taste... The modifications are for a doubled recipe and was served at a ministry BBQ, had I known that it was going to go over as well as it did I would have actually quadrupled the recipe and still would not have had any left-overs.. 1) replaced the cheddar cheese with 2 7 oz bags of Sargentos Bistro Blends, one Asiago and roasted garlic and one Sundried Tomato and Basil, The Asiago went in with that sour cream mixture, the other was mixed in with the topping... I replaced the bacon with diced pancetta and added 1/4 Walla Walla Sweet Onion and 1 Tsp of minced garlic Used bacon ranch instead of plain ranch... Replaced the Parsley with Fresh Chives Drizzled the melted butter over the topping rather than mixing it in with the cheese and cornflake mixture... I will definitely make this again, but will change a couple of items even further I will reduce the amount of cornflakes in the topping and not add them until the last 15 minutes of baking time... The only thing I did not like about this was the layer of grease on the bottom of the dish as it was being served. This could be avoided by using a thin layer of the cornflakes on the bottom of the baking dish to absorb it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
This is a yummy one. I've been making this for years, and call it Ranch Potato Casserole. It's sooo tasty! Last time I made it, I had fresh basil and not parsley so I used that. It was still good! I've tried it with low-fat ingredients and it's just not as good....so I only make it for special occasions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I am going to be one of those people that changes the recipe and then states her opinion- I know, me too.... Anyway I didn't have red potatoes so I used yellow and scaled back the recipe for 4 servings. Cubed the raw potato thru it in an oven safe casserole dish sprinkled with fresh ground pepper and two crisp crumbled bacon strips. Mixed sour cream, 1/4 Cup ranch dressing powder and cheese in a small bowl. Poured over potatoes and mixed thoroughly. Covered and cooked for 1 hour in a 325 oven (I was roasting a chicken at that temp). Didn't use topping. THIS WAS SO GOOD! NOT DRY AT ALL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
VERY HEAVY! The first time I had them my Mom made them and while they tasted good, I could hear my heart saying mercy. I made these last week for a poluck and I tweaked it. I used 2/3 cup fat free sour cream, used 2/3 cup fat free sour cream (instead of bottled dressing) and used 2 packets of Ranch dry seasoning mix, used 2% cheddar cheese, Used the precooked bacon pieces (less calories and fat then fresh bacon)added 3 tbsp's minced garlic to the mix and used Land O Lakes light butter with Canola Oil (in small tub) in place of butter. It tasted a little different then the orginal but was still DELISH!!!!!! Cut the fat & calories by over a 1/3 and there was none left. I have added dill or chives or green onions also, to help flavor them up! had many people ask for the recipe. I gave them the original version and mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
I used Yukon Gold potatoes that were rather large, so I zapped them in the microwave until done. The ranch/sour cream mixture didn't seem to be enough, so the whole dish was dry, but maybe boiling the potatoes would have solved that problem. My husband also ate almost all the corn flakes and I didn't realize it until I went to use them, so I substituted plain bread crumbs and the topping looked fine. Overall, pretty good, and I think I'll give it another try - this time as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiemaytoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I'm kind of stumped by the "dry and tasteless" reviews. I stayed very true to the recipe, except scaled it up to 18 servings because I had 3 pounds of potatoes. I still baked it in a 9 by 13 pan though. Maybe the thicker layer of potatoes held the sauce better? I also salted my water for the potatoes, sprinkled seasoned salt on them once they were in the pan, and added some pepper to the sauce. I was actually a little skeptical of how they'd turn out since the sauce didn't taste that great to me, but the flavors really melded together wonderfully to the point that you wouldn't necessarily pinpoint the flavors as being ranch, sour cream, and cheddar cheese. Also I sprinkled my bacon over the topping to keep it from getting soggy, and I used the original amount of topping in spite of increasing everything else. The only thing I would change for next time is decrease the butter in the topping (which was really good) because I ended up with puddles of melted butter in the bottom of the dish. That may be because I measured the 3 cups of cornflakes before crushing them, maybe if I'd used more the amount of butter would have been okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Mmm. These were very good. The more you ate though, the less you liked the flavor. Overall they were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awilson614

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I didn't really like this recipe. I thought the sauce was very oily and the potatos didn't have much taste. I won't be making this again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
Sorry didn't like this much. The cornflake topping was nice (I didn't use the butter) but the potatoes were dry & tasteless. I even added a whole cup of milk to the ranch mixture before cooking the potatoes but they were still dry. Won't be trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Marble Potatoes

See how to make colorful pan-roasted baby new potatoes with bacon.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States