Farmer's Ranch Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
I used Yukon Gold potatoes that were rather large, so I zapped them in the microwave until done. The ranch/sour cream mixture didn't seem to be enough, so the whole dish was dry, but maybe boiling the potatoes would have solved that problem. My husband also ate almost all the corn flakes and I didn't realize it until I went to use them, so I substituted plain bread crumbs and the topping looked fine. Overall, pretty good, and I think I'll give it another try - this time as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiemaytoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
Made this for the first time today... and can only say PHENOMINAL....I did make some minor modifications to this though, mainly for personal taste... The modifications are for a doubled recipe and was served at a ministry BBQ, had I known that it was going to go over as well as it did I would have actually quadrupled the recipe and still would not have had any left-overs.. 1) replaced the cheddar cheese with 2 7 oz bags of Sargentos Bistro Blends, one Asiago and roasted garlic and one Sundried Tomato and Basil, The Asiago went in with that sour cream mixture, the other was mixed in with the topping... I replaced the bacon with diced pancetta and added 1/4 Walla Walla Sweet Onion and 1 Tsp of minced garlic Used bacon ranch instead of plain ranch... Replaced the Parsley with Fresh Chives Drizzled the melted butter over the topping rather than mixing it in with the cheese and cornflake mixture... I will definitely make this again, but will change a couple of items even further I will reduce the amount of cornflakes in the topping and not add them until the last 15 minutes of baking time... The only thing I did not like about this was the layer of grease on the bottom of the dish as it was being served. This could be avoided by using a thin layer of the cornflakes on the bottom of the baking dish to absorb it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
This is a yummy one. I've been making this for years, and call it Ranch Potato Casserole. It's sooo tasty! Last time I made it, I had fresh basil and not parsley so I used that. It was still good! I've tried it with low-fat ingredients and it's just not as good....so I only make it for special occasions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
loved it! made a meal with broiled steak, baked onions and this baked potato casserole. The steak and the onion recipe are both from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
I also used Yukon Gold potatoes like another reviewer did, mainly because they were all I had on hand. I followed the recipe exactly (other than the kind of potatoes) including the boiling, and they still came out dry and unflavorful, even with the ranch dressing, bacon, and cheese. It smelled absolutely fantastic while it was cooking, so it was hugely disappointing for them to end up tasting so blah once they came out of the oven. I didn't see anything about salting the potatoes while they were boiling, could that have been the problem? I didn't add any, as the recipe didn't call for it, and it seemed like none was needed...until after we tasted them. After cooking, no amount of salt made them better. If I try this recipe again with the 'right' potatoes, I will gladly add a new review if the difference is dramatic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
Sorry didn't like this much. The cornflake topping was nice (I didn't use the butter) but the potatoes were dry & tasteless. I even added a whole cup of milk to the ranch mixture before cooking the potatoes but they were still dry. Won't be trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
A perfect side dish. You can never go wrong with anything having to do with Ranch. Very tasty...I seasoned with a little bit of salt as well! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
My family loved this, and my grandmother is a very picky eater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
I made this for dinner last night with Best Ever Chicken. Very good recipe. I used white potatoes and substituted bacon bits for real bacon. I would recommend not adding the cornflake topping until it is halfway done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Mableton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
These potatoes are awesome! They have a great flavor, and are a nice substitute side dish for the average potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oskaloosa, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Marble Potatoes

See how to make colorful pan-roasted baby new potatoes with bacon.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States