Farmer's Ranch Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Good recipe! As you can guess, it's very bold, so be careful making it with another elaborate dish. I serve this with a simple chicken and zucchini medley and it's always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Pretty good. I used all low fat ingredients with success. The dish was still flavorful. Will probably make again sometime. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
my husband really enjoyed this dish. i halved the recipe, and used crushed crackers on top instead of the cornflakes (not a big cornflake topping fan!). i found the cook time to be excessive, i only had it in the oven 15 mins and it was bubbling away. i think if it was left in the oven for 45 mins as stated it would really dry out. as i had cooked my potatoes in the water to desired tenderness before putting the casserole in the oven, you're only really heating the dish through, not cooking anything anyway. all in all it wasn't bad - nothing super special but a change from the ordinary. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I am going to be one of those people that changes the recipe and then states her opinion- I know, me too.... Anyway I didn't have red potatoes so I used yellow and scaled back the recipe for 4 servings. Cubed the raw potato thru it in an oven safe casserole dish sprinkled with fresh ground pepper and two crisp crumbled bacon strips. Mixed sour cream, 1/4 Cup ranch dressing powder and cheese in a small bowl. Poured over potatoes and mixed thoroughly. Covered and cooked for 1 hour in a 325 oven (I was roasting a chicken at that temp). Didn't use topping. THIS WAS SO GOOD! NOT DRY AT ALL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I thought this was delicious! My whole family loved them too! The only thing I would do different is to add salt and pepper on the potatoes before adding the ranch mixture.I'll definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I gave this 4 stars only because I Started out with this recipe but didnt exactly follow. I actually boiled the potatoes too long so I couldnt bake them. I took all the ingridients minus the corn flakes and mashed the potatoes and they were SOOOO good like that. I also added extra cheese and bacon in them. They made awesome mashed potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelsieh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I LOVED this recipes, but DH wasn't a fan (probably the ranch dressing). The cornflakes gives it such a nice crunchy topping. I will definitely make this one for potlucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ldsjackson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
My husband loved this! I too used a combination of extra sour cream (about 1 1/3 cup total) and a HALF PACKET of Ranch dip mix in leiu of the ranch dressing due to what I did (and didn't) have on hand. We are eating on a pretty tight grocery budget so this was our main course tonight-- a lead sinker! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairview, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This is a great starter recipe! I was a little unsure about this recipe due to the lack of seasoning, but I made it as directed. It came out pretty good, but kind of bland. Next time I make it I'm going to add the basic salt and pepper (that every recipe should have!), some minced onion and maybe a handful of sliced green onions. YUM!! Just like a loaded baked potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IstyMae

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it! It was delicious. Although I used more ranch, sour cream, cheese and bacon then was called for. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Marble Potatoes

See how to make colorful pan-roasted baby new potatoes with bacon.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States