Farmer's Ranch Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I nearly doubled this recipe and still prepared it in a deep 9x13 pan. I used about 4 cups of corn flakes with 1 stick of butter and 1 1/2 cups of cheese. I also added garlic pepper seasoning to the ranch dressing mixture. Oh, yeah, and I used 1 lb. of bacon. It was killer. I didn't add the crumbs until the last 15 minutes of baking. The bacon was just sprinkled over the potatoes before I spooned on the ranch dressing mixture. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
My goodness, ranch, sharp cheddar, and bacon. How can you go wrong? It was supposed to be the side dish but it stole the show. Everyone loved them. I made a batch using 5 lbs of red potatoes. I struggle to have leftovers. They are gone tonight. I used peppered bacon and French Fried Onions with half the cheese for the topping. We're calling this dish Heart Attack Potatoes. Next time I will try Yukon Gold potatoes instead of red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Eh. These were fine, but a little dry. Maybe we used too many potatoes, but even after adding some more cream mixture (because it looked to dry before baking) these still weren't that great. We'll stick with our au gratin potato recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Mmm. These were very good. The more you ate though, the less you liked the flavor. Overall they were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awilson614

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This recipe was realy good but left overs were a little dry. I will make this again and will use a full 16oz. of Ranch dressing and instead of corn flakes I will try stove top stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatumup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
These potatoes are amazing! I would not change a thing with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collins, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I made this recipe for a family and friends gathering and it was a big hit. There were no leftovers and I had several people ask for the recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I love these! My husband is not a big fan though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harleywine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I'm kind of stumped by the "dry and tasteless" reviews. I stayed very true to the recipe, except scaled it up to 18 servings because I had 3 pounds of potatoes. I still baked it in a 9 by 13 pan though. Maybe the thicker layer of potatoes held the sauce better? I also salted my water for the potatoes, sprinkled seasoned salt on them once they were in the pan, and added some pepper to the sauce. I was actually a little skeptical of how they'd turn out since the sauce didn't taste that great to me, but the flavors really melded together wonderfully to the point that you wouldn't necessarily pinpoint the flavors as being ranch, sour cream, and cheddar cheese. Also I sprinkled my bacon over the topping to keep it from getting soggy, and I used the original amount of topping in spite of increasing everything else. The only thing I would change for next time is decrease the butter in the topping (which was really good) because I ended up with puddles of melted butter in the bottom of the dish. That may be because I measured the 3 cups of cornflakes before crushing them, maybe if I'd used more the amount of butter would have been okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
DELISH!! This was FANTASTIC! I cut up the potato's into chunks before I boiled them and had to leave out the parsley because I forgot to pick it up. Other than I followed the recipe and used LowFat Sourcream. This got all sorts of mmms and yum's while we were eating. Not sure why some people had bland potato's because mine were anything but bland! I really liked this better then, cheesy ranch potato bake, that I use to think was the best. THANKS for such an awesome recipe! Follow the recipe and you won't be disappointed :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerstin

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Marble Potatoes

See how to make colorful pan-roasted baby new potatoes with bacon.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States