Farmer's Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
result: a huge, flat loaf very similar to focaccia, with a crispy crust and a soft, springy inside. i recommend the following for a tastier loaf: dissolve chicken broth powder into the yeasty water, and stir in 1.5 tbsp of rosemary into the flour. i also added cooked cubed chicken breast. AMAZING, i tell you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
This turnd out with a huge loaf, even when the proportions were reduced down. Over all very tasty- I drizzed mine with honey and butter partway through the baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Great recipe - do add sugar and salt as suggested!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrison, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
Texture-wise, its wonderful! With a crisp crust and fluffy inside. But like others mentioned, its kinda bland. I did add 2 tbsp of sugar like someone suggested, but... I also doubled the quantity of salt. Reckon it would taste pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
very crispy crust... not real impressed. not a whole lot of flavor basically tastes like nothing...maybe I did something wrong...who knows. I'll try another recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
I tried making this recipe in two loaf pans rather than a round loaf. I was not successful. It didn't raise enough. It also needed more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
I made this into one *really* tall 8 x 4 loaf and about 7 buns. I used 2 cups of whole wheat and 4.5 cups of white, and I added an extra teaspoon of salt. Also, I added 2 T sugar to my yeast mixture. The loaf turned out light and fluffy with a pretty hard crust. All in all though, it's pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
This recipe made a fabulous loaf of bread! The texture was light and fluffy, and it rose beautifully. I think it could use a little bit of honey to sweeten it a little, but other than that it's a terrific bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
a wonderfully simple, basic and very easy recipe which produces fine loaves of bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
This bread was very easy to make! I have been making my own bread for some time now....and this is a wonderful recipe. It helps to put a pan of boiling water on the rack UNDER the rack the bread is on. It makes a nice chewy crust, with warm soft bread on the inside! Thanks for sharing this receipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States