Farmer's Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
LOVE this bread! Was my first time using my stand mixer and first time making a yeast bread. It was so easy and turned out really beautifully. I ended up using a little less flour but went to a 'T', for the most part and everyone loves it. the texture is moist and chewy inside and nice and crusty on the outside. I am no longer afraid of making bread! YAY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
A nice bread, small crumb, not a lot of rising so don't punch it down too much. I tried substituting 2cups whole wheat flour to the mixture and a 1/4cup more water as well. Tonight I will also try retarding the mixture in the refrigerator for 10-12hrs after letting it rise for the 1hr the first time. This should let the flavors develop more and help to get an more airy bread. I'm also going to try adding steam to this bread while baking for the first 10mins to get the crust to stiffen up as well. Good recipe... my first decent bread I've made and it was well received and went quickly. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This recipe came out perfect!! at the 25 minute mark I did turn down the oven but I also brushed the top of the bread with olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
excellent !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aylmer, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I halved this recipe--no way that amount of ingredients results in just 12 slices. It's a very easy, very basic, plain white bread. The only change I made was to put it in my bread machine on the dough cycle, then I baked it as written. It worked very well with the Orange Pecan French Toast I made for breakfast this morning. The size of the loaf makes very long slices, but if you cut them in half they are perfect half size sandwiches. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This is a great recipe to use to add to. I have made it several times with adding either beef flavor or chicken flavor boullion to the water and yeast before adding flour. I also add about 2 tablespoons crushed garlic to it and at times 1 tablespoon dried rosemary. I also don't bake it as just bread I roll it out after the first rise and cut it into about 6 to 8 inch rounds and put in chicken with either alfredo sauce or just creme of chicken soup in it and then pull up the sides like a pocket and then let stand for about 15-25 min for 2nd rise before baking. My three football player sons love these filled with chicken or beef and sauce. I only rated it 4 stars because of the changes I make to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Newton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I love this bread. It was so easy and it came out perfectly. I think this will become one of my favorite and most baked bread recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This is an easy recipe, with guananteed results. I do add 2 tsp. sugar, and melt the butter instead of cutting it in, and it tastes terrific. I love that it has no milk in it, and since I've made this several times I can honestly say it's always cames out great. Nothing worse than bread that doesn't rise, and that just doesn't happen here. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Wilbur, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
This is the best bread!!My family consumed almost the whole huge loaf at a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
result: a huge, flat loaf very similar to focaccia, with a crispy crust and a soft, springy inside. i recommend the following for a tastier loaf: dissolve chicken broth powder into the yeasty water, and stir in 1.5 tbsp of rosemary into the flour. i also added cooked cubed chicken breast. AMAZING, i tell you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States