Farfalle with Ham and Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Good base recipe. I halved the recipe and used frozen peas. Will definitely add more seasoning next time but my husband and 15 month old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Used this as a base to clean up vegetables that needed to be used. Also added diced onion, frozen peas, mushrooms, fresh garlic, and a couple slices of cheddar cheese. Sprinkled garlic herb seasoning on it as well. Versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRNBEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greentown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
This was too dry for our family. Nobody liked it:( It's the first recipe from allrecipes.com that my family didn't like. Oh well! I gave it one star because I think I will take the leftovers and add Alfredo sauce. Perhaps that will give it the creaminess I was going for when I picked this recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Based on others' reviews and comments, I altered the recipe and got great results! I used a 12 oz. box of farfalle, 1 cup of milk, 8 oz. of cream cheese, 1 cup of shredded parmasan cheese, 1 cup of shredded mozzarella cheese, and I added onion. While the farfalle was boiling, I sauteed finely chopped onion in a separate pan. While the pasta was draining in a colander, I made the cheese sauce (milk, then cream cheese, then parmasan, then pepper and garlic powder, then mozzarella) over low heat in the emptied pasta pot. To avoid the sauce thickening up too quickly and even becoming a bit STRINGY or rubbery, I recommend adding the MOZZARELLA LAST and stopping stirring the sauce BEFORE you think it is thick enough. Return the drained pasta to the pot w/ the cheese sauce and stir in. Each member of my family mixed their own distinct ratio of ham, onions, and peas into their bowls of creamy, cheesy farfalle. Success! my husband, 8-year-old and I really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This is an easy recipe but it tastes just so-so. I followed a lot of the suggestions in the reviews. I only used a 12 oz package of farfalle pasta. I sauteed 1 small onion and 3 minced garlic cloves in a pan. I like sauce and I used 1 1/2 cups of milk, 1 1/2 cups of shredded Cheddar cheese and 1 cup of mozzarella cheese. I warmed the milk and then added the cheese in a sauce pan before adding it to the noodles. I also added a tsp of dry mustard. But it still was dry and needed more sauce. I can't imagine if I had cooked 16 oz of pasta and only used 1/2 cup of milk how dry this dish would have been! The kids thought the meal was OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This is a variation of the Italian recipes, typical of the Emilia Romagna region, but in the Italian one there's no mozzarella, Cheddar Cheese and garlic, only a little bit of Onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I followed this recipe most of the way... I used roasted turkey breast chunks instead of ham. Also I chopped up some garlic and added it to the milk mixture along with a little chicken broth to enhance flavor. I added everything except for peas and turkey to milk mixture and melted the cheeses then added peas and turkey to avoid cheeses clumping. also added about 3/4 tsp flour to help thicken. It was SUPER good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I found this recipe looking for ways to use up left-overs after Easter. I used a 2 different kinds of cheddar cheese instead of mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
This is such a simple recipe that can adapt to anyone's 'doctoring' - I add cream cheese or yogurt with the milk. I made this one time giving the dish a hearty Italian flavor. I made this another time giving the dish a sweet flavor from various spices. When you only have a few minutes for dinner due to kids schedules; and or are short on ingredients, give this recipe a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Charlotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I started by sauteing some chopped garlic in butter before adding the milk and remaining ingredients. Used white cheddar and Parmesan cheeses. When the sauce was done, I spooned it over the pasta. I thought this was a good way to use the rest of a ham steak from the previous night's dinner, but my husband didn't agree. Some people don't like ham and peas I guess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Wheels with Peas, Ham and Tomato

Sweet Virginia ham pairs perfectly with peas, tomatoes, and sautéed garlic.

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Mini Ham and Cheese Roll Dinner

Hot little sandwiches and cool pasta salad pair perfectly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States