Fantastic Mexican Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
I have made this dip many times for parties and catered events. Recently, I doubled the recipe for a "ladies" function and everyone said that it was way too much (the "we eat like birds" syndrome). I came back an hour later and the dip was GONE! Those ladies ate like vultures!! Everyone loved it. Like others, I add a layer of refried beans as the bottom layer. I can play around with the level of "heat" by mixing hot or medium taco sauce or by adding green chiles. I also use the chopped lettuce as a border so that dipping is easier. Great dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
Awesome! The only change I made was mix the cream cheese/sour cream and taco seasoning, spread in pan and refrigerate for 1/2 hour to settle. Then topped the cheese mixture with the beef mixture. I substituted 1lb of beef for a can of spicy refried beans. Then topped the beef with the cheese, which melted over the hot beef/refried mixture. Then topped with lettuce, scallions and olives. The best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
Awesome dip! Recipe says medium bowl, you will need a 13x9 baking dish, I used one a bit smaller because it said medium and I ran out of room. It tastes great!! The third time I made this I halfed the ground beef to 1 lb, it's good either way, but with 1 lb, you definitely taste the cream cheese/sour cream mixture more. Better at room temperature. Next time I might prepare the cream cheese mixture ahead and spread it into the dish, cover with foil and store in fridge overnight before putting everything else on it because the mixture is much more flavorful the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amb1580

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
This is sooooooo good, however I changed a couple of the ingredients. First I used 1lb of gr. turkey because the I thought the gr. beef flavor might be to much. I mixed the cooked gr. turkey with a can of refried beans and the taco sauce. This I added to the bottom of the bowl. Instead of regular cream cheese I used whipped cream cheese because it is easier to mix with the sour cream. The cream cheese/sour cream/taco seasoning mixture I added on top of the meat and bean mixture. Next I added a bunch of shredded chedder cheese, I got rid of the lettuce ( I was afraid it might wilt) added the chopped tomatoes, onions and olives. Make sure you add a big spoon to the bowl at your buffet or party because this dip is thick and your chips will break if you just try to scoop it out of the bowl. This dip made this way is super yummy, every one who has tasted it just loves it. You won't regret making this dip. ;o) Elise P.S Serve this dip cold. After you make it, put it in the fridge and take it out when company comes or you leave to go to where ever you will be taking the dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
I have made and eaten a lot of seven layer dips. This one is by far the best I have tasted so far. The cream cheese mixture on the bottom gives a lot more flavor than sour cream along. The meat doesn't get clumpy like it does when you use taco seasoning on it, but it still has a lot of flavor. I have found a new Mexican dip recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
Fantastic? I don't think so! 2 lbs of ground beef is ALOT (esspecially to later waste). Is this suppossed to be served while the meat is still warm right after the dish is put together or when the dish is cold? I choose cold (like other 7-layer taco dips I've made before) and it was terrible. Afterall, do YOU like eating cold hamburger? How about 2 lbs of it? It almost made me choke! You can hardly taste anything else! I then tried to heat it up a few min in the microwave and then the lettuce and cream cheese gets wilted and all melty (I know that's not a word...). Even my boyfriend, who eats almost anything...stuck his nose up at this. Nothing personal Bumblebee, but I will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This recipe was very good for this kind of dip. I've used many. I did several things different. I only used 1 lb of ground beef. I used salsa instead of taco sauce. I added a layer of guacomole over the sour cream/cream cheese layer. I left out the lettuce. I used olives sparingly as I find many people don't like them in this kind of dip. Another thing, this recipe makes a huge quantity. I used a pie plate. If you use as directed with the 2 lbs of meat, you will definitely need a bigger boat, as in a 13 x 9 inch dish. Also, you need a spoon and small plates for serving. You cannot "dip" chips into it. Having said all that, it was very good and I will make again for parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa j

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Auntie D in MN
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This was a big hit with my guests. It has a terrific presentation, but all raved about the flavor. I took others advice and put a layer of bean dip in the bottom of the plate and then followed the recipe's layering instructions after that. I also agree that making the "base" a day in advance to let the flavors blend makes a big difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
Fantastic ;) I added refried beans to the bottom on half for the boys and canned, drained diced green chiles, (2) 7-oz. cans, on the whole thing for an extra little something. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
This recipe is great. It has become my staple at all parties and there is never any leftovers. Four things I do a little differently, however; one, I only use half the beef, two, instead of taco sauce I'll mix the beef with a mild to medium salsa, three, don't include the olives, and four I use the hot & spicy taco seasoning. I also find if it is serve at room tempurature it is easier to scoop but bring out the spoons just in case. Love this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Potato Nachos

Taters step in for tortilla chips, & nachos get an instant upgrade to main dish.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States