Fantastic Mexican Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
I love this recipe. My family loved it as well. I cooked the beef with green onions, added garlic, then made a mistake after reading another reviewers addition. I added a can of Rotel to the meat, a jar of taco sauce and cooked it down. I was trying to make a little bigger recipe, so I added an extra cream cheese, then worried about the taco flavoring not being enough. I added an envelope of Fiesta Hidden Valley Ranch Dip mix to it. Layered it and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
I made this for a party recently (and will for the next party coming up this month) and it was a super hit! As soon as it hit the table people crowded around it and stayed there until it was all gone! Anyway, I omitted the olives (mexican dip with onion & olives? - confusion) and the lettuce (afraid they would wilt). Only added 1lb of beef, 2lbs for the amount of salsa is just too much. Added some flavor to the ground beef with some seasoning before I added the salsa and let it simmer for quite some time until the meat was really tender. Consider doubling the recipe with 1lb of meat because it will be gone FAST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artsychicany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
I made this dish for a going away party; what a hit!!! I changed the meat to one lb GB and one lb hot sausage. I left out the lettuce as it was not going to be served for a few hours after preperation. Everyone begged of rthe recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
This recipe is really easy to make and the whole family absolutely loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenbrier, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
I made this for a cookout recently and everybody loved it! Everyone wanted the recipe because they liked it so much. I did follow advice from others and used only 1 lb. of beef, used whipped cream cheese, and I also left off the tomatoes and olives because several people there don't care for them. Other than that I left everything else as it was and it turned out really well. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonmayden85

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Laurie, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
I took this to a work pot-luck and it was a big hit!!! It is now one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZNSAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
This recipe is great. It has become my staple at all parties and there is never any leftovers. Four things I do a little differently, however; one, I only use half the beef, two, instead of taco sauce I'll mix the beef with a mild to medium salsa, three, don't include the olives, and four I use the hot & spicy taco seasoning. I also find if it is serve at room tempurature it is easier to scoop but bring out the spoons just in case. Love this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
I've made this dip many times and everyone loves it. I do add refried beans at the bottom and only use 1-lb of ground beef. Otherwise it is perfect and always goes fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Good, but nothing special. (I'd actually prefer just a standard 7-layer dip.) Probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNJENN43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Pretty good...it is a thick dip so your chips break pretty easily in it. And its almost like a taco salad. We had plenty of leftovers and it was good the next day. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Potato Nachos

Taters step in for tortilla chips, & nachos get an instant upgrade to main dish.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States