Fantastic Lemon Butter Fillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
Very good flavor! I used pollock filets, which were fairly thin. But so many reviewers recommended a longer cooking time, that I cooked them for 30 minutes just to be sure. I served this with a flavored rice mix and french-cut green beans. It's easy enough for a weeknight dinner, but looks special. Thank you, Matthew! A word to the wise: Because of the lemon juice, DO NOT use a Teflon-coated (i.e. non-stick) baking sheet or it will absorb the fish smell and flavor. Use glass if you can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Prior to cooking, I read the reviews and followed some of the suggestions. I also "tasted" the sauce as I went. I used less salt and pepper (1/4 the amount listed). I also added 1/4 tsp dill weed and a heaping tbsp of Mayo (to help it "stick". The results were fantastic. Since we also had shrimp skewers, I wanted something similar but different (so the flavors would compliment each other), so I cut back on the lemon juice by 1/2, omitted the dill this time, and added a scant 1/4 cup grated parmesan. The shrimp were heavenly. This recipe is definitely a keeper, as my husband has recently developed a love of fish. Next time I'm trying it with a butter substitute, as my hubby has digestive problems with that much butter. But recipe definitely earns 5 stars! Update: I tried another variation using the mayo, parmesan, dill, and chives added to the basic recipe (like I've done in the past), and baked it over tilapia fillets. MMMMMMMMM! It was wonderful. My son, who doesn't really like fish, really enjoyed this! This is now my standard recipe for fish! If I could rate it 10 stars, I would! Next time, I'm going to try it with a splash of wine... Ohhhh, I can hardly wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldilocks19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
I also think that adding lemon pepper seasoning to the lemon butter cod will have a overpowering taste. Instead, I grated the lemon zest and mixed it with 1/2 cup of plain bread crumbs. I also layered fresh baby spinach underneath the fish, covered it with lemon butter and bread crumb mixture, and finished it with some grated parmesan cheese on top. I baked it at 375F for 15 minutes, and removed the foil to bake for another 15 minutes. Absolutely love that creamy lemon taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2002
This is very similar to the way I normally cook fish, halibut, in general. I used halibut with this recipe and it turned out awesome. I also added some heavy cream to the sauce at the end to make a cream sauce and it was superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Dufour

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
This is 5 star only after a few changes based on other people's suggestions. Left out the lemon pepper entirely, sprinkled a little dill over, used fresh lemon juice, and placed a slice of lemon on top of each fillet. As a personal preference, I used orange roughy instead of cod because I can't stand cod. Great after these changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
I wrapped salmon, topped with this sauce, in foil packets and baked them. I omitted the lemon pepper and placed lemon slices on top of the fish instead. It was delicious! My husband is picky about fish and he really enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandiceSteele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Higashi-Omi, Shiga, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I'm rating this four stars rather than five as the amount of lemon pepper and lemon called for seems overbearing. I toned them both down considerably, and used fresh parsley rather than dried. I also was not fond of the cooking method, covering the fish with foil. I prefer my fish a nice, golden brown, so I baked it in a 400 degree oven, uncovered, till flaky (time depends on thickness of filets, and mine were done in 15 minutes), then broiled them just long enough to brown the top. Hubs and I really enjoyed this, but again, my recommendation would be to use only enough lemon pepper and lemon juice to suit you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
LOVED this recipe. Didn't have lemon-pepper on hand so I omittted it and am glad I did as I think it would have "ruined" the fresh taste it had. This is quick, easy and really favorful. For the reviews calling it "bland" or just "so-so" I would venture to guess they didn't use fresh lemon, fresh garlic, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pontiac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
This is a tasty, easy recipe. I made it easier by using 3 tbs. bottled lemon juice instead of squeezing the lemon, using a garlic press instead of mincing the garlic, and using a covered casserole dish instead of foil covered pan. I did add some cayenne pepper to the sauce, and sprinkled a little dill and seasoning salt on the fish. I also cut back on the lemon pepper, as suggested. I baked it 25 minutes instead of 15-20. My husband especially enjoyed this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
The lemon butter sauce is so good! I added a bit of garlic powder to it, and also a couple tablespoons of sour cream to make it creamier. It turned out great. This would be good on ANY fish! We have had it on salmon and halibut both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States