Fantastic Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This was a huge hit with the family. I used 3 cans of black beans and 2 cans of tomatoes to make it stretch a bit farther. Other than that followed exactly. It is definitely a new winter staple at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pollock Pines, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I was looking for a chili recipe to use up leftover turkey I had. I had cooked a turkey breast the night before and had plenty of leftovers, so I shredded it and used it in place of the ground turkey. I tried it as is, and in the end, after taste testing it first, decided to add a can of diced tomatoes (and I had used a 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes because that was what I had on hand), which helped thicken it up. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly. Not a repeat for me. All the tomatoes, basil, oregano, garlic, and red wine vinegar made the taste too ... sharp/bitter. After I added A LOT of cheese, I was able to salvage the dish and not toss it out, but I didn't enjoy it. Definitely will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Great recipe. I give it 4 stars because I made minor tweaks based on other suggestions by other reviewers and based on what I had (example: I used cider vinegar because I didn't have red wine vinegar). One kid who doesn't like chili really enjoyed this chili and ate up all her chili and even had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This chili is excellent. I was asked to bring some kind of black bean dish as part of a Superbowl Sunday nacho bar. Everyone loved it. Since people were already bringing chicken and beef to the party, I substituted 1/2 pound of center cut bacon instead of the ground turkey. I bet it would be great with ground pork. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I added 1 cup of Mexicorn and 1 Tbsp. Cumin and served the chili over rice....it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by powermama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Incredibly easy to make and tasted spectacular. Only change was swapping 1 can of black beans for kidneys, and adding 1 tbsp cumin after reading other reviews.... good call. Topped with a lump of low-fat sour cream and a bit of shredded cheddar. Perfect with a pan of cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I made this recipe because it was easy and healty. I was surprised to find out that the Fantastic was no boast, and this recipe is now my favorite chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This was very nice. I added some cumin to the spice mix and used Laura's Lean Beef. Also didn't have black beans so I used 2 cans of pinto and 1 of small red beans and a 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes with garlic. Next time I will drain at least 2 cans of the beans. Too much liquid. I also added 1 beef bouillon cube and 1 garlic bouillon cube. I think it's a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Very yummy! I added ground beef instead and only 2 cans of beans. Very Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 699) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States