Fantastic Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Delicious! I changed a few things up: left out the turkey to make it vegetarian, used chili beans for half the beans and actual red wine instead of red wine vinegar and added some diced red bell pepper. I sauteed the onions, pepper and garlic in a separate pan then put everything together in a stock pot to simmer. I didn't really measure anything so I probably used more spices than called for and topped it off with some shredded cheese and a little sour cream. This was definitely one of the better vegetarian chili recipes I've made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This chili was great .I think that nutritional facts are WAY OFF.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
The pros for this recipe are it is super easy to make with few ingredients and is low calorie, high protein, high fiber. The only draw-back is it is a little overkill with the black beans. It may just be a personal preference but I think this recipe could be improved by substituting one can of black beans with another kind of beans. I will try with garbanzo beans next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizUgalde

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I just made this for the first time tonight. Very easy to make and very delicious! I followed the recipe as it was written and I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I was looking for a quick and vegetarian lunch today, so I left out the turkey. I only had 2 cans of beans, and for the spices I just did 1/2 leveled tsp. of each and a few splashes of the red wine vinegar. Interesting combination and I enjoyed it. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Today was clean out the refrigerator day, so of course I had to completely change and use up what I had on hand, but the credit for the inspiration goes all to you. How wonderful! I scaled recipe way down to 2 (would really serve 4) and used 2oz diced chicken breast, leftover black beans, diced tomatoes, and olive oil instead of vegetable. I love love love the addition of red wine vinegar! Your spice mixture was dead on. Thanks so much for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This was very good! I used a 28oz can of crushed tomatoes. I also added a can of diced jalapenos and some cumin. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This was a huge hit with the family. I used 3 cans of black beans and 2 cans of tomatoes to make it stretch a bit farther. Other than that followed exactly. It is definitely a new winter staple at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pollock Pines, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I was looking for a chili recipe to use up leftover turkey I had. I had cooked a turkey breast the night before and had plenty of leftovers, so I shredded it and used it in place of the ground turkey. I tried it as is, and in the end, after taste testing it first, decided to add a can of diced tomatoes (and I had used a 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes because that was what I had on hand), which helped thicken it up. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly. Not a repeat for me. All the tomatoes, basil, oregano, garlic, and red wine vinegar made the taste too ... sharp/bitter. After I added A LOT of cheese, I was able to salvage the dish and not toss it out, but I didn't enjoy it. Definitely will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 696) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States