Fantastic Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I made this with about a pound of cubed chicken since that's what I had. 1 can black beans, 1 can red beans, 1 can white beans. I drained the beans before I noticed not to, so I added in a little salt. I pureed a can of diced tomatoes, which added plenty of moisture. Also added about a tsp sugar and a tsp of chicken boullion. Oh, and used marjoram instead of oregano (which is a sub I usually make since I like the flavor better). Served over white rice with sour cream on top. My family adored this chili! Even my picky kids inhaled it! The herbs add a nice, savory flavor and the chili comes out flavorful, but not too spicy. Didn't have a lot of time to let it simmer all together (about 10 minutes or so), so I bet it would taste even better after letting the flavors mix more. Only have a tiny bit leftover to see!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Simple and tasty, this was a hit with everyone at my house. I usually have all these ingredients on hand which makes me love the recipe even more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Perfect for a cold winter day like today in Michigan. I used two can black beans and one pinto (cuz I didn't have three black bean) and was perfect. Also added can of corn. Will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis1022

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
this is my go to chili recipe, I always make a double batch and freeze some for lunches etc. this time I added a pinch of salt and a can of diced tomatoes, my boyfriend told me it was the best chili yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This chili was ridiculously delicious. It was quick, easy and healthy. It made my dinner! I added a little cumin and smoked chipotle pepper and a lot of garlic and it was just superb! It inspired a whole post on my blog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Delicious!!! Easy!!! I eliminated the ground turkey and used a 28oz can of crushed tomatoes. Also added some diced red pepper and a bit of crushed red pepper. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I followed the directions. I did add an additional can of crushed tomatoes just to make it go a little further. I accidentally drained the beans (out of habit), so just added back in a can of water. Unfortunately, I was short a tablespoon of chili powder, but it was still loved by all. All kiddos asked if we could have it again some time. The recipe was quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melcurtis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
certainly needs double the crushed tomatoes it is to dry otherwise - we used ground pork and I added more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Val Clark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This was great and easy enough that my husband was able to make it all by himself! That makes it a real winner. We loved the flavor. We did use extra crushed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 691) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States