Fantastic Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Love this chili! Instead of using canned black beans, I used "Ivis' Black Beans" recipe from this site (which I had in my freezer) and beef chili meat instead of ground turkey (which I also had in my freezer). I used diced tomatoes instead of crushed because that was what I had in the pantry. I did add one can of tomato sauce as well. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Love this recipe! I am not a big bean fan, however I do like black beans. My husband loves this recipe too....we use ground goat meat. It's wonderful. Corn bread on the side and a little cheese on top. Great comfort food for this rainy wet weather we are having here on the east coast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This is my new favorite black bean chili recipe. Everyone loved it and said that it was the best yet. Also, it's really simple to make and requires very few basic ingredients. I made two tweaks though; 1) I added 1 tsp of ground cumin. 2) I used dried beans instead of canned. I soaked them overnight and cooked them alone for 60 minutes. I then drained them and continued with the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souldad57

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
The vinegar makes all the difference. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I made this with about a pound of cubed chicken since that's what I had. 1 can black beans, 1 can red beans, 1 can white beans. I drained the beans before I noticed not to, so I added in a little salt. I pureed a can of diced tomatoes, which added plenty of moisture. Also added about a tsp sugar and a tsp of chicken boullion. Oh, and used marjoram instead of oregano (which is a sub I usually make since I like the flavor better). Served over white rice with sour cream on top. My family adored this chili! Even my picky kids inhaled it! The herbs add a nice, savory flavor and the chili comes out flavorful, but not too spicy. Didn't have a lot of time to let it simmer all together (about 10 minutes or so), so I bet it would taste even better after letting the flavors mix more. Only have a tiny bit leftover to see!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Simple and tasty, this was a hit with everyone at my house. I usually have all these ingredients on hand which makes me love the recipe even more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Perfect for a cold winter day like today in Michigan. I used two can black beans and one pinto (cuz I didn't have three black bean) and was perfect. Also added can of corn. Will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis1022

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
this is my go to chili recipe, I always make a double batch and freeze some for lunches etc. this time I added a pinch of salt and a can of diced tomatoes, my boyfriend told me it was the best chili yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This chili was ridiculously delicious. It was quick, easy and healthy. It made my dinner! I added a little cumin and smoked chipotle pepper and a lot of garlic and it was just superb! It inspired a whole post on my blog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Delicious!!! Easy!!! I eliminated the ground turkey and used a 28oz can of crushed tomatoes. Also added some diced red pepper and a bit of crushed red pepper. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 695) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States