Fantastic Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Made a vegetarian version and a turkey version, but started it in one pot and then separated into two pots. Both my meat-loving Texan man and my vegetarian midwestern mother loved it. It was delicious! I added several dashes of celery seed, curry, and hot sauce (I couldn't find my chili powder). Also, I doubled the garlic (I'm a garlic fanatic). Instead of using all black beans, I substituted one can for kidney beans. I think next time I make this (which will likely be very soon because this recipe is amazing), I will add a can of white beans. I put this over quinoa and sprinkled the top with cheddar cheese and a spoonful of sour cream. We had last night's batch again this morning for breakfast, and we realized that it was even better today. Next time I make this, I am going to put all the ingredients in a slow cooker in the morning, set it on low and let it cook all day. Make this -- you won't regret it. It's easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Great recipe...but try this! I used diced tomatoes (the type with chil peppers added) instead of crushed and add two 14.5 oz cans instead of one. Kept the turkey at one pound, but after cooking for one hour, I added a can of low salt corn for color (and because I love corn). My husband seasoned his bowl with Sriracha sauce and really enjoyed it! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This is a great recipe, my family loved it. I used venison instead of turkey because I have way too much in my freezer. It worked just fine. I would highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Excellent recipe. Have been searching for weeks. Per the reviews, I used what I had and added rotel tomatoes and corn; used ground beef; cumin, crushed red pepper, 2,cans pinto and 1 can pink beans; white wine since I had no RWV. I think it's a fabulous base recipe. Thank you for making my first chili experience a very tasty one! My 4 kids, husband, bad my very picky older sister had seconds and thirds. It sat overnight in fridge to infuse all flavors. Sieved with Fritos and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi Evans

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Easy and delicious. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Nice and easy recipe. Tasty comfort food! I did add an equal amount of celery as the onions and sauteed them together. Additionally, our family likes the RWV kick and so I added an extra tbspn. Finally, if you like your chili with a thicker consistenc like we do, I added a small can of vegetarian refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This is a stand-by, realible recipe that can be tweaked to the ingredients you have on hand/your diners enjoy. My extra two cents: food process for those who have a hard time with chili because of the consistency. I dislike this recipe "chunky" and love it smooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
This is my favorite chili recipe ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This recipe had a very acidic taste when I attempted it, tried adding some brown sugar which didn't help, added a teaspoon of baking soda ( which I should have done first), it bubbles like crazy and looks like a science experiment, just keep stirring, it worked great. Chili tasted great after that. Not sure if the brown sugar was necessary, but probably since the recipe doesn't call for tomato sauce to sweeten it. I used lean ground turkey, the entire pot if you are counting calories was under 1600 calories. I also rinsed 2 of the cans of beans to help lower the salt content. Very filling and good after tweaking a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Wow what a great recipe...and SO easy to make. I did use Rotel Tomatoes (with Green Chiles) instead of the crushed and I also added Red Pepper flakes. I like the kick it gets. I simmered for 2 hours and when it cooled, the thickness was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 701) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States