Fantastic Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
made this for dinner tonight, very good! although i didn't add the turkey and instead of crushed tomatoes i used 2 cans of diced tomatoes (fire roasted and diced with green chiles). this was so thick, love it and will make a double batch next time. And this is definetly my new favorite chili recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Shelton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This is very good, easy and tasty. I Do cook my own black beans from dry beans in a pressure cooker.. Canned are ok,but are pretty salty, and cost much more. I also add a package of crushed red pepper, the kind that is delivered with pizzas. I have also tried it more than once with green onions- Yummy also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I loved it, I added cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Made a vegetarian version and a turkey version, but started it in one pot and then separated into two pots. Both my meat-loving Texan man and my vegetarian midwestern mother loved it. It was delicious! I added several dashes of celery seed, curry, and hot sauce (I couldn't find my chili powder). Also, I doubled the garlic (I'm a garlic fanatic). Instead of using all black beans, I substituted one can for kidney beans. I think next time I make this (which will likely be very soon because this recipe is amazing), I will add a can of white beans. I put this over quinoa and sprinkled the top with cheddar cheese and a spoonful of sour cream. We had last night's batch again this morning for breakfast, and we realized that it was even better today. Next time I make this, I am going to put all the ingredients in a slow cooker in the morning, set it on low and let it cook all day. Make this -- you won't regret it. It's easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Great recipe...but try this! I used diced tomatoes (the type with chil peppers added) instead of crushed and add two 14.5 oz cans instead of one. Kept the turkey at one pound, but after cooking for one hour, I added a can of low salt corn for color (and because I love corn). My husband seasoned his bowl with Sriracha sauce and really enjoyed it! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This is a great recipe, my family loved it. I used venison instead of turkey because I have way too much in my freezer. It worked just fine. I would highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Excellent recipe. Have been searching for weeks. Per the reviews, I used what I had and added rotel tomatoes and corn; used ground beef; cumin, crushed red pepper, 2,cans pinto and 1 can pink beans; white wine since I had no RWV. I think it's a fabulous base recipe. Thank you for making my first chili experience a very tasty one! My 4 kids, husband, bad my very picky older sister had seconds and thirds. It sat overnight in fridge to infuse all flavors. Sieved with Fritos and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Easy and delicious. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Nice and easy recipe. Tasty comfort food! I did add an equal amount of celery as the onions and sauteed them together. Additionally, our family likes the RWV kick and so I added an extra tbspn. Finally, if you like your chili with a thicker consistenc like we do, I added a small can of vegetarian refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This is a stand-by, realible recipe that can be tweaked to the ingredients you have on hand/your diners enjoy. My extra two cents: food process for those who have a hard time with chili because of the consistency. I dislike this recipe "chunky" and love it smooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 694) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States